King of the Hill - Another Update on my Housing Situation

image.png

"How to clean a black oven?"

The fact that I decided to Google the above, today, gives you an idea of the state-of-things, inside and around the house that I previously moved into. For that - and much more - I have to thank the previous tenants, who will be brought to court by the home owners because of the damage done during their 5 months or so in this house.

Let's summarize by saying that the people, who handed over the place to me, seem to have used the garden and terrace as a junk yard / open air trash bin and the house itself as one big ash tray. And, if it had been just that, things might have not gone that far. Unfortunately they seem to have killed the solar system and the generator too, among other things.

Anyhow, this wasn't what I wanted to write about but apparently I needed to get it off my chest...

Also, is it a coincidence that I started watching King of the Hill again?

I don't think so.

This series, from the creators of Beavis and Butthead, was brought to my attention,today, when I searched for best animated series. I wanted to watch a cartoon on Watch Cartoon Online ( https://www.wco.tv/cartoon-list ) and couldn't decide. King of the Hill was pretty high on the list and I couldn't ignore it this time.

In all honesty, I don't believe in coincidence any longer, as I told @drrune days ago. On the contrary, I like to be pleasantly surprised by witnessing all the parallels and little and bigger signs of 'magic' all around me, that I either wouldn't have been aware of or would have called coincidences or luck or fortune or something along those lines, in the past.

I recently started calling myself "King of the Hill", jokingly, as the house that I moved into, a week ago, lies on a hill and I was eyeing it from the road underneath, in the last couple of months, while house sitting a place downhill, closer to the river. I manifested my move to this place, step by little step and even though the transition was far from smooth, I kind of saw that coming too and it didn't stop me from making it here.

Anyhow, if you haven't seen King of the Hill, ever before, you might want to give it a watch. I find it pretty funny. At least, 'a lot funnier' than most cartoons these days.

Is that a sign of me growing old?.

Just before this write up, while watching King of the Hill, one of my best friends, we've known each other for about 25 years, when I was 14 and he was 12, called me, unexpectedly.

During our video call, where we mainly talked about my move to this new place, he couldn't help but make a remark on my ( in his opinion ) long hair. I actually saw that coming. He's the one-haircut-a-month type of guy and we tend to joke about all our differences. He said he was thirsty ( we used to drink together whenever we met, among other things, and nowadays he cherishes these moments where he winds down from his job and family life with an alcoholic beverage ) and couldn't wait for me to visit The Netherlands ( we're both Dutchmen ) again. I replied that it has been almost 11 months indeed since we last met and drank. I haven't touched a drink since New Years Eve though.

He proposed to have a video call with a drink soon. Let's see about that. I haven't decided to stop drinking alcohol entirely, but I'm also not really missing it. Let's say that I probably wouldn't refuse a glass of good wine or a special beer at his place, whenever I visit The Netherlands again, but I also won't buy alcohol just to kindle that feeling of nostalgia on a future video call.

And to return to King of the Hill, as depicted in the screenshot at the top of this writing, this guy sure likes his beer. Kind of like Homer Simpson.

I used to really like my beer(s) too but I've never been a couch potato, I've never had a beer belly and I've never been a North American hahaha

This King of the Hill is gonna chill

probably with a movie

It might well be a French movie called

"Cop au Vin"

which is a word joke and I am a sucker for word jokes.

I also like many a French movie, especially from the mid 50s to the, let's say, mid 90s ( yeah, I studied film, for those who didn't know ).

This particular one is from the mid 80s and directed by a French director whose films are pretty interesting, to say the least...

Find more info on it here ( on my favorite movie streaming site MUBI ):

https://mubi.com/films/cop-au-vin

Buy for now and take care!


As mentioned before, the pic above this post is a screenshot of King of the Hill. Aside from the title, similarities with me will be hard to find.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency