Was Hive a mistake in my life?

This writing is to share a reflection on my life and my relationship with Hive. This is my first time in this community. I have wanted to post here for a long time. I hope to meet great people.

At the time I started in Hive, in May 2020, I was just started in my country Venezuela the quarantine by COVID-19 (two months to be exact). I was coming from Steemit, but I had not published there for a long time. In fact, I was coming from a quite inactive season because I was living in Colombia for 6 months and I don't remember to have posted even once during that time.

A year before starting Hive, maybe a little more, about 18 months maybe, I was in the process of training to fulfill one of my biggest dreams: to be a lecturer. Since I was young it had been my longing to be a writer and to give lectures, seminars, workshops. So I decided to train myself and perfect a talent I knew I had but still needed to polish.


image.png
Fuente


So I began to take courses in speech, public speaking and to specialize in being a lecturer, which was my goal. In one of the classes they teach us to develop our personal brand and the importance of projecting our image and essence in everything we do.

I start practicing what I learn and as time goes by I start developing courses, writing and signing in social networks with my pseudonym G. S. Bilbao (inspired by great writers such as J. R. Tolkien, J. K. Rowling or C. S. Lewis), and using my pseudonym G. S. Bilbao. S. Lewis), and use my logo in my social networks, among other things. During 2018, the final part of 2019 and the beginning of 2020, I had a clear goal: establish and strengthen my personal brand. But then came the event that changed the plans of the whole world: the pandemic. Although in my case it was two events: I fell in love with @carmary and with that also my plans changed, my focus shifted. Those who saw the interview with @AderneyCarrillo on her show @peoresnada, know the details of what happened in those first months of quarantine and how it changed my life. And if you haven't seen it, I invite you to enjoy that interview.


captura_de_pantalla_54_.png


The point is that my personal brand, my goal of being a famous speaker, a sought-after speaker and traveling the world, was no longer a priority. Starting Hive with the opportunity to generate income, being in quarantine which prevented me from many things and falling in love with this woman and starting a family with her children, I preferred to bet 100% on Hive. Then, at the beginning of 2021, I return to Steemit with a closed community in which I found a way to monetize my content (although some do not agree with their method, it has helped me a lot and I thank them a lot for their support).

Anyway. All this I tell you is to make you understand that I bet everything to the crypto world, specifically to Hive, Steem and Bitcoincash blockchains, because I was also quite active in Noise Cash.

Before concluding and answering the question posed by the title of this post, I must make it clear that my intention to resume my professional life, personal branding and goals of publishing books, lecturing in many and being a highly quoted speaker had already been hovering in my mind for a few weeks. In fact, I was thinking of resuming little by little, without leaving Hive.


logo_g._s._bilbao_2022_fondo_negro.png


But this huge drop of BTC and therefore, the rest of the currencies I was working with, made me make a decision: to leave Hive. That was the first thing I thought, but after rethinking things, I decided to resume 100% my personal brand G. S. Bilbao (@gsbilbao) and have Hive and its social networks as an additional place to show my content. But what I want is not to depend entirely on what I produce with it.


**Was Hive a mistake in my life? No, not at all. I would go back in time and choose it again, but I would do it in a different way, that is, without giving up my personal brand. Hive was not a mistake, the mistake was making it my main income. That I could have used Hive to strengthen my profession? Yes, but I didn't know how, want or could have done it. But this post is not for regrets, but to reflect on this topic and at the same time to announce that what I did not do in the last two years, I will start to do from today.



For more Hive gifs, click here.


I invite you to visit my alternate blog, @gsbilbao, where I publish content exclusively in Spanish on: oral, written and interpersonal communication; motivational philosophy and personal development.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)




🌎 SPANISH 🌍




Este escrito es para compartir una reflexión sobre mi vida y mi relación con Hive. Es mi primera vez en esta comunidad. Desde hace tiempo había querido publicar aquí. Espero conocer gente genial.

Al momento de comenzar en Hive, en mayo de 2020, estaba recién iniciada en mi país Venezuela la cuarentena por el COVID-19 (dos meses para ser exactos). Yo venía de Steemit, pero tenía tiempo sin publicar alli. De hecho, venía de una temporada bastante inactiva porque estuve viviendo en Colombia por 6 meses y no recuerdo haber publicado ni una vez durante ese tiempo.

Un año antes de iniciar en Hive, quizá un poco más, unos 18 meses tal vez, estaba yo en proceso de formación para cumplir uno de mis sueños más grandes: ser conferencista. Desde joven había sido mi anhelo ser escritor y dictar conferencias, seminarios, talleres. Así que me propuse capacitarme y perfeccionar un talento que sabía que tenía pero que aún necesitaba pulir.


image.png
Fuente


Empiezo pues a hacer cursos de locución, oratoria y especializarme en ser conferencista, que era mi objetivo. En una de las clases nos enseñan a desarrollar nuestra marca personal y la importancia de proyectar nuestra imagen y esencia en todo lo que hacemos.

Empiezo a praticar lo que aprendo y con el pasar del tiempo empiezo a desarrollar cursos, escribir y firmar en redes sociales con mi seudónimo G. S. Bilbao (inspirado este en grandes escritores como J. R. Tolkien, J. K. Rowling o C. S. Lewis), y usar mi logo en mis redes sociales, entre otras cosas. Durante 2018, la parte final de 2019 e inicios de 2020, tenía un objetivo claro: establecer y fortalecer mi marca personal. Pero llegó el evento que cambió los planes del mundo entero: la pandemia. Aunque en mi caso fueron dos eventos: me enamoré de @carmary y con ello también mis planes cambiaron, mi enfoque se modificó. Quienes vieron la entrevista con @AderneyCarrillo en su programa @peoresnada, saben los detalles de lo que pasó en esos primeros meses de cuarentena y cómo me cambió la vida. Y sino la has visto, te invito a disfrutar de esa entrevista.


captura_de_pantalla_54_.png


El punto es que ya mi marca personal, mi meta de ser un locutor famoso, un conferencista solicitado y que viajara por todo el mundo, dejó de ser prioridad. Al iniciar en Hive con la oportunidad de generar ingresos, al estar la cuarentena que me impedía muchas cosas y al enamorarme de esta mujer y formar una familia con sus hijos, preferí apostar por Hive al 100%. Luego, a principios de 2021, vuelvo a Steemit de la mano de una comunidad cerrada en la que encontré un manera de también monetizar mi contenido (aunque algunos no estén de acuerdo con su método, a mi me ha servido de mucho y les agradezco un montón el apoyo brindado).

En fin. Todo esto que les cuento es para que entiendan que aposté todo al mundo cripto, específicamente a las blockchains de Hive, Steem y Bitcoincash, porque también estuve bastante activo en Noise Cash.

Antes de concluir y responder la interrogante que plantea el título de esta publicación, debo dejar claro que mi intención de retomar mi vida profesional, marca personal y metas de publicar libros, dictar conferencias en muchos y ser un locutor muy cotizado ya venía desde hace algunas semanas rondando mi mente. De hecho, pensaba retomar poco a poco, sin dejar Hive.


logo_g._s._bilbao_2022_fondo_negro.png


Pero este bajón enorme de BTC y por ende, el resto de monedas con las que yo trabajaba, me hizo tomar una decisión: abandonar Hive. Eso fue lo primero que pensé. Pero luego de repensar las cosas, decidí retomar al 100% mi marca personal G. S. Bilbao (@gsbilbao) y tener a Hive y a sus redes sociales, como un lugar adicional donde mostrar mi contenido. Pero lo que quiero es no depender totalmente de lo que produzca con ella. No quiero seguir apostando todo a una sola fuente de ingreso. Es un error.

¿Hive fue un error en mi vida?

No, en lo absoluto. Regresaría el tiempo y la elegiría de nuevo, pero lo haría de una manera distinta, esto es, sin renunciar a mi marca personal. Hive no fue un error, el error fue hacerla mi ingreso principal. ¿Que pude usar Hive para fortalecer mi profesión? Sí, pero no lo supe, no quise o no pude hacerlo, quizá fue una mezcla de esas tres razones. Pero este post no es para lamentos, sino para reflexionar sobre este tema y a la vez anunciarles que eso que no hice en estos últimos dos años, lo empezaré a hacer desde hoy.



Para más gifs de Hive, pulsa aquí.


Los invito a pasar por mi blog alterno, @gsbilbao, donde publico contenido exclusivamente en español sobre: comunicación oral, escrita e interpersonal; filosofía motivacional y desarrollo personal.

Gracias por tu lectura atenta. Espero leerte en los comentarios. Y sí, seguiré aquí. No pienso irme y espero, tú tampoco lo hagas.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency