This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Weekend shifts

1000251085.jpg

Today was my second day in the freezer and I'm actually adjusting to the temperature. There's still a bit of anxiety before going in but once you're in there and the doors are shut, you really just get sucked into the moment and the temperature starts to feel "normal".

The human body adjusts pretty quickly to temperature but not so much when it comes to adjusting to strain. The back pain from standing for house consecutive hours takes it's toll and I've been feeling it.

I'll need a couple of weeks to properly adjust but I think I'll be fine. As one of my colleague put it, it's like going to the gym and giving your body time to adjust.

There's still plenty of adjustment to do and to fast track this adjustment, I've decided to take weekend shifts. Also, I need the extra money that comes with the hours to balance out what I miss on Friday half days.

I plan to take weekend shifts as many times as they come. I'll keep at it throughout the months of September and all the way up to November, when I'll quit.

In the period, I intend to redirect all the extra income towards courses and qualifications that can boost my chances of landing even better roles. I've been researching a few and it looks like there are a bunch of licenses and things I could equip myself with that will enable me to work in better environment.

At the end of the day, it's about improvement and the way I see it, there's an opportunity here that I have to take. It's going to be physically and mentally draining but it's all part of the process.

I expect burnout and since weekend shifts are voluntary, whenever I feel like I'm not up for it, I will simply decline. On those days, I'll look out for fun activities that we can do in Nottingham.

I'm in a really good position and it can only get better from here. I just have to soldier through this early stages and always look out for ways to improve.