New AI Art Programs Ruins Sharing WIPs Online

This is in response to a recent tweet that trended over my feed on X.

Copainter is an AI illustration tool makes illustrations more efficient. A loose comparison that comes to mind was GitHub Copilot which predicts the code you're about to do and finishes it for you. Copainter finishes your work in progress sketches with a cleaner line art up to the coloring process.

Artists just sharing their unfinished works in sketches or live streaming their works would be surprised at someone else finishing their stuff for them in real time.

How this impacts artist sharing their work in progress (WIP) on social media?

I swear this isn't a paid advertisement.

Just my opinion alone, whether we like it or not, AI is going to stay and there will be businesses, tools, and careers that will be created around it much like how Adobe's programs helped create multimedia artists. It doesn't mean I support unethical scraping of works from artists that gave no permission for corporate entities to feed their AI learning materials.

I can see the appeal of copainter and the possibility of more programs like it being a staple in the industry and this is just a vision moving forward.

Companies will try to lower the production costs as much as possible for profits. If tools like these can reduce the necessary manpower to meet some deadlines, it will happen. In Japan, the growing global demand for anime outpaces the replacement population of local workers so it's not news to hear about some parts of the production get outsourced elsewhere.

A mangaka and assistant can now reduce their work time on the line art and coloring because of tools like Copainter. While it doesn't replace unique artstyles, yet, it can markedly reduce the amount of time needed to panel, ink and color a page for a serialized manga. For artists stuck with an art block, AI can inspire some compositions and with a little tinkering on the suggested lines, one could continue working on the piece they initially struggled to begin with.

I still have my reservations on the AI revolution when it comes to art. For one thing, I've seen the online art community on twitter turn against itself with witch hunts trying to out artists that pretend their work isn't AI. I have seen real artists get accused and had to prove their workflow online. I have seen art enthusiasts wanting to be in the scene but get discriminated for liking generated images. A lot of these are rooted from unethical scraping of copyrighted material for learning and peoples perception of art in general.

Shameless plugging my WIP post. I'm stuck on an art block, struggle with line art and want to focus on learning how to colors and lighting. Copainter would be a nice tool to reduce my time doing a specific part of the work process but I know art purists would prefer I do everything from scratch because it's the way it should be and I'm like...

Yeah, better not. It's not like everyone learns or appreciates art the same way and the subjective part of the art that makes it art doesn't can blur the definition depending on the times.

While tools like copainter helps me skip part of the process, it's unfair to assume that I wouldn't bother learning fundamentals as I go through with the journey and much like everyone else out there who also sees AI as a tool for their own workflow. I still like building stuff from scratch over just relying on AI but that's a personal satisfaction thing and would prefer people to just shove their opinions up theirs if I just want to work smart.

Part of the negative rep generated art images has came from users that don't disclose they use AI on their works and pretend to be building things from scratch. It doesn't help anyone.

If you don't like Adobe and AI generated art, here's another tweet:

In response to another artists getting their works tagged as "AI" when it's not.

Thanks for your time.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency