Cassava cake for extra income

As a full-time fur mom, I spent most of my time taking care of my fur babies, but I always see to it that I have time to help my husband not only in taking care of him and the household but also in our finances. I always find ways to have extra income in selling baked products.

Baking is one of my passion, there are times during Christmas we bake a lot of cakes and kakanins to be displayed in the market food stalls. Before Christmas Eve I went to ask the owners of the market stalls if they could display my cakes with a commission. Thankful to God there are a lot of them allowed us. Me and my team baked as much as we could for display and orders. However, after the pandemic, sales went down since everyone was affected.

cas16.jpg
The products we prepare during Christmas and New Year's eve.

I also accept orders for all occasions like birthdays, weddings, fiestas, and even All Souls Day, since Filipinos love kakanins. Anything as long as I can do it I will not surrender cause I believe you can do anything as long as you are willing and passionate about what you are doing. I even took a one-week class of Caro and Marie which I paid a lot just to learn.

cass.jpg
During my 1 week training at Caro and Marie

So today we're gonna be making Casava Cake, the most saleable cake of all time. Here are the ingredients:

  • 1 kilo fresh grated cassava ( 4 cups)
  • 1/4 cup melted butter (any butter)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup coconut milk (fresh or canned)
    -1 big can of evaporated milk
    -1 big can of condensed milk

cas15.jpg

for the toppings:

  • 1/2 cup of coconut milk
    -1/2 cup of condensed milk
    -1 large egg
    -grated cheese

cas5.jpg

Procedure:

  1. See to it that you grated your cassava in the smallest particles. I already grated my cassava last Sunday and put it in the freezer. You can freeze it for two weeks if you like. If you are going to use it just thaw the cassava and bake.
  2. Mix all the ingredients (except the toppings) into a big bowl. See to it that it has no lumps.

cas14.jpg
The eggs, butter, cassava, and coconut milk.

cas12.jpg
Condensed milk

cas13.jpg
Evaporated milk

cas10.jpg
See to it that it has no lumps

cas11.jpg
Mix everything

  1. I prepared an Aluminum tray with 6x9 size and put four cups on it. There is remaining batter, so I put it on a 3x6 aluminum tray, one cup each and it makes 3 trays. I bake it at 250 degrees Celsius for 15 minutes or until firm.

cas6.jpg
Put the 6x9 tray with batter into the oven

  1. Mix the topping ingredients and set aside.
  2. After the cassava is cooked I pull it out put the toppings and bake it again for 20 minutes until the toppings are golden brown.
    I did this until everything was cooked already.

cas4.jpg

cas3.jpg
Put the toppings

Before slicing see to it that it is cold already or else your presentation will be a failure. Once the toppings are still hot they will stick to the knife so put it on a chiller first for easy slicing.

cas2.jpg

cas1.jpg
Ready to serve

Of course after baking we do the washing of all the utensils that we used. This is the most hated part of baking the washing. LOL

That's all for today's blog, thank you for taking the time to read. See you on my next story.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency