AFRITUNES #101: ME & U



Designed on Canva Pro Version


Been a while since I dropped one of these. It’s good to be back.

Hi, Afritunes. This week, 101, I will be presenting a cover of Grammy winner Tem’s Me & U.

When I first heard this song, as always, I was hesitant to listen because it was “the happening song.”

I seem to have this habit of not getting involved in trends until they are no longer trends. I don’t know if that makes sense?

So, listening to him (the person that introduced me to the song) play it over and over actually made me more determined to not listen to it. It’ll be playing and I’ll automatically tune out. Someone would be singing it and my attention would go somewhere else.

Very bad habit 😂

But anyway, I had a change of heart when I found out it was a gospel song.

I immediately got curious. If you know Tems and her style of music, especially ”Crazy Things”, you’d understand why I got curious. Just imagine Wizkid releasing a gospel song? Yep. That’s how it felt to me at that moment and I immediately sunk myself into her music once I got home.

All the aversion I had to the song just washed away, especially with the original version. So upbeat and the message she conveyed only made me love it more.

So, I decided to do a cover. As usual, I wanted to insert my own lyrics but then I realised the song was just perfect as it is. I had a blast singing to it.

Tell me what you think. I’ll leave a link to the original song below. Hehe.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency