Foxtailed Auto Banana Blaze - I Screwed Up !

Hello Weedcashers !

DURBAN POISON AND BANANA BLAZE WEEK #1 (3).jpg

Today i got something weird to bring you that happened in my previous Harvest.

Well at the end of its cycle, i could already see some very weird formation on the buds structure of my Banana Blaze Auto.

It ended up happening something called "fentrigo" (foxtail).

When i was look into it, the first thing i found is this is an awesome thing that happen to SOME strains, and it indeed create some powerfull stuff. But there is also a bad type of foxtail.

Which one do you think i have =D ?

the bad ofc.

This was and can be caused by 2 primary things.

1 - Excessive light exposure.
2 - To much Heat.
3 - Possibly tried to be polinizated by a male. (this is making me go krazy, since my plant indeed grow a single nanner on it, which i cut off)

It looks like Sativa plants does not like indoor grows like indicas. This does not mean it won't grow, of course, but it can be more easily stressed out by the envoirment.

I managed to talk to with a famous Brazillian Grower, called *Bengrower, who is giving me a few tips on my current grow. He also explained me a lot about this foxtailing plants.


The Good foxtail.

The good ones, are definitely genetic related. They will happen in the whole plant, but with a regular structure between them, they will pretty much look all alike. This will happen to the plant don't matter what you do, it will just happen. This kind o foxtail seem to produce more THC then regular plants, which is pretty cool.

Here is some pictures of good foxtailed plants :

grinspoon.jpg
source

This is a strain from Dr grinspoon and its meant to grow like this.
Thanks @jonyoudyer for showing me this ! i Didn't think a few plants would grow like this naturally. its awesome huh...

image.png
source

this is an awesome picture i found, of a foxtail strain. This one look cool as fuck !


The Bad foxtail.

Well this one is what i got. My lack of knowledge and perception made me let my plant grew into this weird formation. The 20hours light exposure everyday was indeed to much for her, and i won't use this cycle anymore. The thing is that you can also try to recover the plant. All you need to do is set the light properly, try to mantain a 23º celsius temperature and make sure there are no male plants around, lol. Just by doing this, you are pretty much avoiding any chance of you sativa plant to foxtail.

i got some pictures of my results, and i will share with you.

image.png
picture taken by me. unfortunately.

image.png
picture taken by me.

You can see how weird the bud structure is in this plant. Buds look like "weiss" lol. unfortunately the bad foxtail end up loosing a lot of THC, different from the good one. But this plant can still get the job done. Its not powerfull as the others, but it does smell great, got a good smokability (not sure if just made up this word) and gets me a little bit high. i can pretty much smoke this before working and have a great relaxing day.


Hope you guys enjoyes this weird pictures !

Take good care of your plants. Don't let them suffer =[

I indeed learned my lesson, and i am already working around to avoid this on my current grow.

Stay safe guys !

Peace !

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency