NBA 75

image.png

TNT released the final players to make the top 75 NBA players of all-time today. Below is the list.

I think most of the players on this list are indisputable. However, there are two names that stick out to me that I question if they would make my top 75 over some other players. The first is Paul Pierce. I think this guy was one of the most overrated players to play the game. According to New Arena, "Prior to the original ‘Big 3’ being formed, Pierce had little in the way of success in Boston. After a run to the Eastern Conference Finals in 2001-02, the Pierce-led Celtics teams bowed out in the first round of back-to-back seasons. Boston then failed to even make the playoffs in two-straight years. This led to the acquisitions of Garnett and Ray Allen. Pierce never made an All-NBA First Team, and was only an All-NBA selection four times throughout his entire 19-year career." That last sentence is the most telling to me of how impactful his career was.

The other player is Russell Westbrook. For some reason this just doesn't pass the eye test for me. No doubt, that man was a menace on the court for a lot of years. I mean, to average a triple double over the course of the entire season is an incredible feat. I've watched a good bit of highlights from that season though and there are some undeniable stat padding moments. Putting that aside, despite his individual greatness, he has yet to win a championship. I definitely believe Russ is a great player of this generation, I just don't think he deserves to be in this list.

What do you all think about the list? Any snubs? Let's hear your thoughts!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency