Sunset at Kota Beach in Bantayan Island, Cebu

Hello everyone!

I already shared with you what I've been up to in the past two weeks. If you haven't read that post yet, you can find it here. I had an awesome vacation, but my introverted self is already sounding the alarm. I need to rest, recover, and recharge. In fact, I slept the whole day yesterday because I felt so drained. It really sucks to be an introvert. 😅

I already shared the sunset photos at Malapascua Island. It was one fiery afternoon and it was probably my first sunset experience on an island after local travel restrictions have been slowly eased. It was breathtaking! If you're interested, you can read more here:


A week after Malapascua Island, we went to Camotes Island. I had shared some sunset photos taken at Santiago Bay. It was not as fiery as in Malapascua, but it was still breathtaking. The expanse of Santiago Bay was the highlight of that afternoon. You can find more sunset photos here:


To complete the trifecta of sunsets in the most famous islands surrounding Cebu, I am now sharing the sunset at Kota Beach in Bantayan Island. As no two sunsets are the same, I can say I'm just blessed to be in a place that's surrounded by stunning islands with long white-sand beaches and almost year-round summer. This combo means gorgeous sunset destinations are just a few hours away from the city.

I've been to Bantayan Island more than 5 years ago and I blogged about the whole experience 10 months ago. I had the opportunity to visit the island again together with a different set of friends. We were on the island from June 14 to 16 and I say it was a very different experience. Some things are still the same like my fascination with its clear turquoise waters and my dread with the island's humidity. However, one thing different was the sunset. I don't know why, but I have no photos of sunsets the first time I was on the island. And one of the reasons why tourists always visit the island is the sunset at Kota Beach.

Those photos in Malapascua and Camotes Islands were taken using my camera, but these photos were taken using my phone because I forgot to bring my camera. I woke up late that when I was packing my things, I didn't realize I didn't put my camera in my bag. I was surprised that the photos turned out awesome! Maybe it's always about the beauty of the island, regardless of what camera you're using.

For me, sunsets will always be about the transition and play of colors. It always reminded me of how fleeting life is and that's what makes it more beautiful. What I loved about that particular sunset was the pastel and subdued colors on the east of the island. Hues of pink and peach were evident and I'm a sucker of those colors.


The sea was just so calm that afternoon. I now realized why people won't ever get tired of Bantayan Island. It's a paradise for beach and sunset lovers!

The sunset is on the other side of the island, so it was covered by trees, but it was still awesome! The play of colors from subtle yellow to fiery orange is just for me!


I would have wanted time to stop at the moment when it was fiery orange on one side while it was pinkish pastel on the other, but we all know it won't happen. Besides the transition made everything like a colorful show.



While the sun was setting, we already took a dip as the sea was so tempting! The water was warm while the air was starting to get cold. It was so relaxing after a whole day of exploring the island. I'll post more about the trip in the next posts.

USC Membrane Research Group: Left to Right - Mika, Me, Dharyl, Nono, Alvin, and Mariz. With @glecerioberto as the photographer.

I guess I'll allocate the remaining portion of this post for my silly photos. 😅 Thanks to @glecerioberto as the supportive photographer.


That's all for this post! See you in my next upload, whatever that is.

Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in Hive. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines). He's also a trying hard photographer so stay tuned as he shares his photos and his thought process while creating them.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
52 Comments
Ecency