Random Shots from My Mother's Plant Collection

Hello Hive!

It's time for another entry here in Photography Lovers community and this post is a drastic change of theme from my previous posts. As you can see in the links of my previous posts below, I'm into Landscape photography and that's because I'm a travel blogger.

Tropical Island Vibe
La Manok Island and Carnaza Island

Sunset by the Beach
Maribago Bluewater Resort and Spa

I guess you can say I got comfortable with taking landscape pictures for my travel blog that I always convinced myself that I'm not really a photographer because there's no variety in my photos. Do you get that sort of vibe? Now, I finally dared to get serious into photography.

I'm a week now into my photography class (told you I'll get serious) and there's nothing new so far. It's still more of history and basic stuff, but I would love to learn all those things.

I decided to upload something new because I wanted to track my progress (or the lack thereof) as I dive deeper into this rabbit hole. I wanted to compare my works as I'm trying to find out my photography style. As for this theme, since I couldn't find a good subject that's near me and I don't want to go out yet, my mother's plant collection became the newest victim of my obsession. Here we go!

CHRONICLES OF A "PLANTITA"
My Mother's Plant Collection


Don't ask me the names of these plants because I really don't know. I only knew roses and jasmine. That's it. As for the rest of those fancy names, I didn't mind.

The term "plantitos" and "plantitas" became a common tongue that's associated with those who became obsessed with gardening during the lockdown. My mother is one of them. She started collecting plants to keep herself busy. However, I would say she's an OG plantita because she has been into plants even before.

I remember our house in Negros was not fancy, but people would admire it because of the plants. She was once obsessed with orchids and vandas, and then euphorbias, and then now she's into caladiums, aglaonemas, and aroids. Of course, roses and daisies were always present. She just rekindled with her old hobby recently so her collection is not yet that many. If you're planning to ask me where are those plants in my photos, please don't. I don't want to stress myself.

It has been raining a lot lately especially during the night, hence the droplets in the photos. I love taking photos of the water droplets during early mornings while my mother was tending the plants. She's been dealing with those hairy caterpillars that are eating her plants recently.


I had difficulty in focusing the shots especially in the close-up ones, but it was a fun experience and it made me look forward to waking up early to look for something new and interesting to take. I made it a fun exercise since I don't really have much to do throughout the day.

I really don't have any prejudices about these photos yet. I just want to share them as is. I'll check this post later on make my own judgment and maybe make a similar post with maybe a different set of editing styles. For now, let me just share this for your consumption. You can comment down below whatever you want to say. I'm open to any comment as long as they're genuine.

Here some more shots:

I guess that's all for this post. I'll definitely share more photos in this community in the future as I continue with my own process and exploration. Thanks for reaching this far!

Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in Hive. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines) and the rest of the world even if he's still a poor corporate slave with tons of bills to pay and two siblings to support in college.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency