Winter Wonderland (in Maryland, USA) ❄️

image.png


Politics aside, living in Florida is a blessing. As I write this, the sun is toasting my feet and, if I want, I can be at the beach in just 5 minutes.

But, growing up in Egypt, I took the sun for granted (year round) and still think of snow as a minor miracle --the antithesis of the desert I know-- but no less mesmerizing.


image.png


These pictures were taken during an extended visit to Maryland and the dog, Chubby, is now no longer with us.

Chubby was a good boy and lived to a ripe old age (98 in human years). During walks such as these, as well as moonlit strolls at night, we bonded over the years. It was my pleasure to take him out for walks. But, towards the end, he could hardly see or hear and was clearing suffering.

If you want to learn how to love, love a dog. ―Sufi proverb


image.png


image.png


I realize for those of you who have to go out and plow their streets, highways and driveways, regularly, it might be difficult to romanticize snow, but I hope you'll enjoy the serenity in these images and that this post finds you keeping safe and warm.🙏

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency