Surf Fishing, Vacationers, and Charming Waves at Da Nang Beach in November

It's not Thai Ko Lipe with its amazingly turquoise waters, not Indonesian Karimunjawa with extravaganza of corals on the seabed, but I love these restless waves at picturesque Da Nang beach 🇻🇳 (called My Khe Beach). The most photogenic place!

I had never seen such sea in my life before I visited Da Nang in 2018 for the first time. I've seen seven seas (I mean literally), and none of them had this particular charm.

One of the peculiarities of the beach are fishermen. They fish right from the shore in this crazy surf. It's called surf fishing.

They start with casting a fishing rod with great effort. That's how Wiki describes the thing:

Surfcasting is a casting technique which separates the surfcaster from the ordinary shore, pier, or boat fisherman... ...Tournament casting is a sport in its own right, with the world record held by Danny Moeskops casting a distance of 286.63 meters.

Almost 300 meters, can you imagine!

I don't know how near Da Nang fishermen to the world record but they really apply force:

The thing has been done, so the fisherman is coming back to the sand to take a seat.

I've never seen they caught something large so I have never had a good excuse to break their piscatorial solitude.

But you can form an idea about the type of fish from what the sea throws up:

I also saved a life during this walk! 🦀 A crab's life. It didn't look like a sand crab at all. It was not beige, but yellow, and its claws were quite flat, and resembled fins. It had clearly been stuck in the sand, and was panicking. I think it got caught by one of the fishermen, who, disappointed with the catch, threw the crab into the sand to die. I found a flip-flop thrown up by the sea, scooped up the crab with it and took it closer to the water. When the next wave came, this crab literally rode it and flew into the sea in the blink of an eye. 😎

You also come across beginner surfers at the beach - they offer boards for rent there and provide instructions.

There also are just beach strollers like me or this girl:

Sunbathers:

Instagramers:

All type of people, some drink beer 🍺, some play volleyball 🏐, I even saw a guy who was playing guitar to the sea... 🎸

Tomorrow, I'll go there again. Hope there will be red flags again - love these waves! 🙂

More images and stories from Southeast Asia are ahead! Check out the previous ones on my personal Pinmapple map.

I took the images with a Nikkor 70-300mm on a full frame Nikon D750 in November 3, 2023 in Da Nang, Vietnam.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency