Spring forest hunt for Delicious and Healthy - Ramsons/Wild garlic/Bear's garlic

Grettings Hivers!

It's been a great week with lots of work and ideas of keeping myself busy, getting back in shape and get healthier. After I was finished with work, April's weather continued to go against me, several times today, but that didn't stop me.

20210403_161808.jpg

20210403_161907.jpg

Since end of February Dandelions have been on my menu at least 4x times a week, in a big bowl, mostly with cooked potatoes, egg and garlic ofcourse. I love it, actually in our family we were all crazy about it and ate huge quantities of it.

20210403_164218.jpg

Lucky it's really healthy for us, has a ton of vitamins and a lot of medicine uses. I prefer it in salad, even better in a mixed salad!

This year I decided I want to teach myself how to hunt for Ramsons or Bear's garlic as I like to call it.

20210403_170036.jpg

Yes I only tasted it a few times on rare occasions, I am aware that you can mistaken for other very simular plants that almost look alike. But as an experienced mushroom hunter I know that same applies to all mushrooms aswell.

If it doesn't smell good, it's definitely not good for you!

Bear's garlic / Wild garlic / Ramsons : is native from Europe to Asia, it's a wild relative of garlic and onion, it has a strong smell totaly like garlic and also tastes like one!

20210403_165826.jpg

20210403_170252.jpg

First few times I smelled each and every leaf and tasted every second one. I've hunted them several times now on my own, for myself and only on the same spot. Because I don't want to poison myself or anybody else until I'm 110% sure in what I'm gathering.

  • I gather them always at same location, only pick them up max 1 meter away from a tiny water stream
  • I observe and only look for Bear's garlic, use my smell and always taste at least one, before I start to gather
  • only take as much as I will eat in next 3-4 days, because fresh is best!
  • they grow from March to July

20210403_170708.jpg

Always do your research before collecting plants / herbs like these, nature is beautiful, but also tricky and can be very poisonous!

20210403_162044.jpg

And I'm definitely not an expert Herbalist!

Do you also gather any plants/herbs nature has to offer in Spring, maybe even for some tea ?

20210403_163155.jpg

All photos were taken today, by me and my Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge.

Thank you for your time, have a great weekend.

Happy, strong and healthy Easter everyone!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency