Sublime and Beautiful Sunday Fishing

Sublime and Beautiful Sunday Fishing

This post is for #SublimeSunday is inspired by @c0ff33a and #BeautifulSunday is initiated by @ace108.

Now I am not a fisherman myself, even though some on here are trying to convince me it is good, relaxing etc, its just something i have never got into myself, I get the idea of it being relaxing by the water and fun trying to catch a fish, I emphasis fun to try as from some of the local fisherman I have spoken to both here and where I used to live in CT, that often they catch nothing but its the trying that make sit fun and a big bonus when one catches something.

I will continue my thoughts on this but first a photo


fishing-6.jpg

Sony A7iii 30mm F8 1/30 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



Now the reason fishing is not for me is I am a hyper person I like to keep moving, some say I have two speeds full steam ahead or asleep LOL

so the idea of standing still say on a pier as in this first shot for half an hour or more hoping a fish would bite just isn't for me, I an more happy walking along and taking photos of the people fishing and the scenery.

But that all said I will say fishing in the early morning with a nice fresh breeze and the colors of the sunrise must indeed be a sublime and beautiful feeling


fishing-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 200
Click here to view larger


Now I have taken shots of people fishing ina few spots and selected a few to edit and share in this post, just now as I am preparing this post I realize all the shots are in the same spot on the pier here on Rodent French Blvd


fishing-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 23mm F22 10 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


This is a guy I often seen there in the early morning and have chatted to him a few times, I am not sure he would want his photo online so I have gone with him more as a silhouette, as he is preparing his rod and line before walking out on the pier.


fishing-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 53mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And for the last shot I will stick with Sublime and Beautiful, but also a bit frustrating for me, this is an Osprey who has a nest just off the Harbor walk and I have seen him fishing many mornings and catching a fish and then flying in a loop over the harbor walk and back to its nest, but just about always in the distance and out of reach of the lens I have on, or I have the settings wrong.
So I \came up with a plan, I watched it for a few days and worked out the time it generally goes to catch a fish, then got my camera all set and put on my big ( and heavy) long lens the Sony 150-600 and went and waited in a position I though I could get some shots of him diving for, catching and flying back with a fish.

Lets just say the best laid plans do not always work out, I went there for maybe 5 mornings in a row just to try and catch shots of him, but those days he just sat in the nest for the whole time I was there, which was between half an hour to an hour each time ( which standing still and waiting patiently for that long is so hard for me as I mentioned earlier.

A couple of days later I was walking the harbor walk luckily with my 24-240 lens and caught this shot of him, a terrible shot I now but the best I ever got this year


fishing-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 240mm F8 1/50 Sec ISO 50
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.611265 lat -70.906285 long the Pier New Bedford MA d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
67 Comments
Ecency