piping plovers on Knowles Beach

Piping plovers on Knowles Beach

Another post with photos of birds, I have lost track with how many I have shared recently, or have photos ready to share which is quite a change for me I think previous years I was doing well with birds if I got enough shots for one or two posts, so I think I am finally getting better at capturing shots of birds

For this post I am sharing shots of what I believe are Piping Plovers, taken on Knowles beach in Dartmouth MA


sat sand pipers-2.jpg

Sony A7iv 600mm F7.1 1/250 Sec ISO 400
Click here to view larger


Now the population of Piping Plovers are struggling for a variety of reasons, storm surges damaging their nesting spots, humans walking through and disturbing the nest along with crows, skunks, racoons, and rats often hunt and eat the eggs, and their populations have grown because of human influences.
here in Massachusetts, there are groups trying to protect this species and on some beaches I have been to parts of the sand and grassy parts of the beach are fenced off to protect the nests

Well fenced off isnt the right word, perhaps I should say taped off, well easier than me trying to explain it here is how parts of the beach are marked so that us humans now not to go onto those areas and disturb the nests.


sat sand pipers-1-2.jpg

Sony A7iv 43mm F11 1/6 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


They are such cute little birds, I have been to this beach a couple of times initially before sunrise to catch the sunrise ( which reminds me I haven't actually edited any photos of the beach and sunrise, so I must get to those shots soon, and then after the sunrise I stroll along the part of the beach it is permitted to walk on and got some shots of these little beauties


sat sand pipers-1.jpg

Sony A7iv 600mm F7.1 1/250 Sec ISO 400
Click here to view larger


I know on some of the beaches where I used to live in Ct they also had similar parts of beaches marked off to protect nesting birds and I think those were plovers or sandpipers if I remember correctly


sat sand pipers-3.jpg

Sony A7iv 600mm F7.1 1/250 Sec ISO 320
Click here to view larger


I think its great groups make effort to protect and enable species of animals or birds that are struggling and help then to rebuild up to good numbers and get very frustrated when I see people ignore the tape and go walking in trying to find a nest


sat sand pipers-4.jpg

Sony A7iv 600mm F7.1 1/250 Sec ISO 200
Click here to view larger


and a last shot to finish off the post


sat sand pipers-5.jpg

Sony A7iv 600mm F7.1 1/250 Sec ISO 200
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.583407 lat -70.950078 long Knowles Beach Dartmouth MA d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency