Photography Lovers End of Year Contest _ My favorite photos of 2021

Photography Lovers End of Year Contest

I have this thing with contests I do not really like entering them generally, not that I am not competitive, I am with myself, driving myself to do better, but for a variety of reasons I wont bore you with here, but thinking about the end of year approaching, and how the focus of this is on our favorite photos and not what we perceive as our best photos I thought I would do an entry.

If your interesting in the contest you can read about it here

Starting with this simple shot of a bird flying by over the rising sun and the rays of light


photo lovers favs.jpg

Sony A7iii 110mm F6.3 1/640 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



This is taken along the harbor walk one morning a place I often head to for early morning walks to get some exercise and a few photos, and is a totally lucky shot I was aiming to catch the rays of light and this bird happened to fly into shot.
perhaps to many nothing special about it, but looking at it even now a few months after I took it I find this image calming and relaxing.

Next up a Statue in Noahs Playground on Popes Island here in New Bedford


photo lovers favs-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 3.2 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Now Noah was a young boy who died in 2016 from complications of mitochondrial disease at the age of 14, and his parents spearheaded the project after to have a park built and opened that was fully accessible for children with special needs, I found the statue and the little soft bunny toy on his lap quite touching.

As I said I am focusing on my favorite photos, and ones that have some special meaning or feeling to me, if the contest was for what I consider my best photos I would not be doing this entry.

Next up is a photo of this portion of I guess control room, of the lightship Nantucket here in New Bedford,


photo lovers favs-6.jpg

Sony A7iii 75mm F8 15 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


I have taken many photos of this big ship from various angles but early one morning while it was still pretty dark I noticed the red glow in the windows and got this shot

And this next shot of an Osprey flying back with a fish to its nest


photo lovers favs-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 240mm F8 1/250 Sec ISO 1600
Click here to view larger


Definitely now a great shot, but on my morning walks I often saw this Osprey fly out and dive and catch fish, of course as luck or lack of luck would have it never when I had my biggest zoom lens with me, and I had tried to get some shots with my 24-240 Lens a couple of times but often I had bene taking long exposure shots earlier and hadn't changed the settings, and never got any what I would call good shots of it, infact I didn't think I had any shots of it worth editing till a couple of weeks ago, going through my photo catalogues I came across this one I must have missed when I imported the photos of the camera, but i include this in my favorites as I did catch a shot of it with a fish, and secondly as motivation to try again next year and get better shots of it

And finishing off with a shot that didnt come out anywhere like I was hoping for


photo lovers favs-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 17mm F8 30 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


I was playing around with some glow sticks trying to create some light painting and circles, without a lot of success I will admit, but in the shot above the string one one of the glow sticks broke and I walked and picked it up and played around while the long exposure finished.
But in the end I found this kind of funky and crazy, perhaps like me and that's why its included in this post

And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.619467 lat -70.913685 long The Harbor Walk New Bedford MA d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
127 Comments
Ecency