Market Friday - New Camera Sony A7IV

Market Friday - New Camera Sony A7IV

A post for Market Friday hosted by @dswigle, if you haven't followed her yet you should she is one of the kindest and most supportive people here on Hive, a comment from her is like a ray of sunshine on your page.
This is the one tag and challenge that I always make a point of joining, and also look through the posts of others that join the challenge and seeing markets from all around the world.

For this weeks post, I will share some photos and a story of my most recent market related experience, well that's not true I have been to the supermarket since, should I perhaps say my most exciting ( for me) shopping experience which was I preordered a New Camera, which became available at the end of December here in the united States the Sony A7IV


a7iv-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 41mm F5 1/125 Sec ISO 2000
Click here to view larger


For the last few years I have been using the Sony A7iii camera and it worked well for me and suited all my needs to be honest, but there were a few new features that made me decide to go for it, and I ordered it through Allen's Camera, and I must say there service is excellent, I called once and the rep I spoke to was excellent, and they called me when they received a new shipment to let me know my new camera would be shipped that day.


a7iv-6.jpg

Sony A7iii 64mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 4000
Click here to view larger


Also they do not charge tax other than for those in the same state PA, also shipping was free, since as I had saved up enough to cover the camera and tax, I was able to put the extra which would have been for tax to buy another spare battery and new Peak Design camera gear.

I have been using Peak Designs gear for a while since I bought their Messenger bag on their first Kickstarter project,


a7iv-8.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 2000
Click here to view larger


I have a slightly smaller bag I mostly use as this bag is a little bigger, but if I want to go out with more lenses than I generally carry I use the Messenger bag shown in the next photo

and if your looking for a camera strap I really recommend the slide they make, this is the second one I have,

Here is a photo of it attached to the camera


a7iv-7.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 2500
Click here to view larger


Well strictly speaking the blue Peak Design Slide strap I show in the photo above is not the new one, I took these down in the basement and forgot to bring my new ash colored slide strap down with me

I use one on my A7iii all the time and it is so comfortable, its still in good condition so I didn't buy a new one to replace it, I will have a Strap for both the a7iii and the A7iv, of course the new camera will be the one I use mostly, but I am keeping the A7iii for times when it would be handy to have two camera such as catching family playing school sports, or events around here, that way I can have a different lens on each camera and quickly be able to switch between one and the other.
I also picked up one of the Peak Design Cuff Straps as shown in the next photo


a7iv.jpg

Sony A7iii 41mm F5 1/125 Sec ISO 2000
Click here to view larger


I have generally used a shoulder strap, but have heard good feedback on the Cuff, you just put your wrist through the loop and than if the camera ever slips from your hand it wont fall all the way to the ground,
I have used it a couple of times and wonder why I never got one before to be honest.

Here is a better shot of it a bit closer in


a7iv-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 72mm F5 1/125 Sec ISO 2500
Click here to view larger


Now one of the Pains for most camera straps is when you want to take them off, say if your using your camera on a tripod and you dont want the strap swinging around in the wind, or to switch from the Slide Shoulder strap to the Cuff strap in my case now, well Peak design make that easy with what they call an anchor.


a7iv-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 90mm F5 1/125 Sec ISO 4000
Click here to view larger


you can quickly unclick the anchor from the belt in literally a second.

OK back to the camera, What's new in the A7iv that convinced me to upgrade

there is many things that have changed but let me just highlight the ones that convinced me to switch

The A7iii has a 24 Megapixel sensor, the A7iv has a 34 Megapixel sensor
Admittedly not a huge change and the 24 has been fine for me at times, but the extra over a third in Pixels can be handy at times especially if I want to be able to crop the image and get closer in, its also a newly developed sensor.

The body size is a little bigger on the new camera, making it a more comfortable one to hold, to be honest I wasn't so sure the difference would be that much, but since holding the new one I do realize my pinky finger was hanging in the air, and the feel just feels better to me.

I was used to the old Sony menu system, but the new Sony top of the line models came with a new Menu System, and having played with it for just a few days now the new menu system is for sure an upgrade, with more customization options buttons and dials, I think I have it setup so for most walking and shooting I can change settings to what I need more quickly with this new camera.

The A7iv has improved autofocus options including but not limited to it has Human, Animal and Bird Eye focus, maybe this combined with the better customization will enable me to get some better bird photos this year.


a7iv-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 51mm F5 1/125 Sec ISO 2500
Click here to view larger


It also has a lot of improvements in video capability but since I hardly ever shoot video that wasn't of that much interest to me.

Now I was a bit slack and all the photos of the camera were taken with my cell phone, so let me finish off with a couple of shots taken with my new Camera

This was on a visit to Fort Taber at sunrise, it was quite chilly but no wind so not to bad and I got to see a glorious sunrise


11 today.jpg

Sony A7iii 17mm F11 1/3 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


and the same morning as the sun was rising above the horizon


11 today-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 22mm F8 1/50 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks



unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

We haven't started Team USA on Hive yet but no doubt it will come shortly

TEAMUSAhive JJ.jpg

!pinmapple 41.595524 lat -70.902749 long Fort Taber New Bedford MA d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
115 Comments
Ecency