An amazing sunset at West Beach

An amazing sunset at West Beach

I actually had another post prepared for today, but after seeing an amazing sunset on Sunday night, I finished editing a few photos this morning and decided to quickly put this post and share it today.

In this post I will share some shots at various stages of the sunset, but as I said in the title it was an amazing sunset, so let me start with when the colors were amazing, I call this fire in the sky.


Sunset West beach-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/10 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


This was my first walk this year at the time of sunset, I hadn't really thought about that till now, but most of my walks this year have been early morning walks at sunrise, or during the day, but I had not been out for a sunset walk at all, but now with the days getting cooler and they last few days it being near or below freezing, I have popped out for evening walks, and Sunday was my first evening walk, and other nature was so kind to me, putting on such an amazing display.

But now that I have showed the peak of the colors let me go back to the beginning of the walk, I parked beside West beach here in New Bedford, with two things in mind getting my step count up and some exercise in by walking and of course catching a few photos.
there was some nice clouds in the sky as you can see in the next photo at the start of the golden hour.

The golden hour is the period before the sun sets where there are some warm colors in the sky, as opposed to the blue hour which is a period after the sun has set and gone down enough to give cooler colors in the sky.
Of course that is talking about sunsets, its the same in reverse for sunrises

I have shared may blue hour photos in previous post before sunrise, this post wont get tot he blue hour as I was on my way back home by then.


Sunset West beach.jpg

Sony A7iii 31mm F8 1/200 Sec ISO 160
Click here to view larger


As time when on the clouds thickened up a bit and started to obscure the sun, making this cool sundog in the sky and a touch of a rainbow reflection on the water


Sunset West beach-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 39mm F8 1/320 Sec ISO 160
Click here to view larger


A little later as the sun was just about to dip under the horizon and the colors were coming out nicely


Sunset West beach-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/28 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And a short while later the sun was just set at this stage


Sunset West beach-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/8 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Funny thing is I have noticed many times, people often come to watch a sunset, and as soon as it dips under the horizon, thats it there off to do other things, but I stay as often a few minutes later when the sun goes down a little further the colors can really come out, as I show in the first photo in this post

And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.606648 lat -70.916294 long West beach New Bedford MA d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
97 Comments
Ecency