Allen C Haskill Public Gardens New Bedford

Allen C Haskill Public Gardens New Bedford

I drove past the entrance to the Haskill gardens this morning on my way back home after a morning walk and it reminded me of two things i must go back and visit them soon and 2 I have some shots I had not shared and hence this post.
Starting with this shot of some colorful tulips and a cool little structure there


Kaskell gardens-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 33mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


A little bit about these gardens The late Allen C. Haskell, a lifelong New Bedford resident and famed horticulturist, assembled these six acres—the site of a traditional New England-style common, beautiful historic gardens, and one of the oldest homes in the city—over more than 30 years. Today, it’s a public park and unlikely botanical respite, blooming in the heart of New Bedford.

There not a huge gardens only takes a few minutes to walk around the whole area, but what they may lack of on size they make up in beauty and cool little features which I will share here, such as this cool rock wal.

OK some may not see a rock wall as cool, but I find they catch my eye and is like going back in time


Kaskell gardens-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Now this I thought was a unique idea, a Container repurposed as a garden display


Kaskell gardens-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/250 Sec ISO 800
Click here to view larger



and the same feauture from another angle


Kaskell gardens-6.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/250 Sec ISO 800
Click here to view larger



Now this I am not sure who made it, but I like the rusty details on this globe, I did this selective color edit


Kaskell gardens-7.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/250 Sec ISO 800
Click here to view larger



And this one in color from another angle


Kaskell gardens-8.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/250 Sec ISO 800
Click here to view larger


They have a little cane plantation, and have chopped cane and invite people to build structures with it, I didnt build anything myself but i would imagine it could be a cool family activity there.


Kaskell gardens.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 500
Click here to view larger


This nest shot shows some trees and the cane area.


Kaskell gardens-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 29mm F8 1/100 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.619467 lat -70.913685 long Cove Walk New Bedford MA d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
47 Comments
Ecency