A foggy morning on Popes Island

A foggy morning on Popes Island

On a recent early morning visit to Popes Island here in New Bedford there was a light hazy fog over the water which made for some cool surreal looking images which I will share here in this post.


foggy on popes island-2.jpg

Sony A7iv 42mm F8 6 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


I do love mornings like this I find the fog quite soothing and calming and the air almost seems fresher than normal.
Now fog in other areas, like the nearby cemetery can give a totally different feeling a moody gloomy and dark feel. but by the water for me its the opposite.

Of course when its a really dense fog and you can hardly see more than a few feet in front of you isnt so nice and terrible to have to drive in.

How do you feel when out in foggy areas?

This next shot is showing the empty piers and marina with Fairhaven in the background


foggy on popes island-1.jpg

Sony A7iv 28mm F8 0.8 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And the fog gently surrounding some of the commercial fishing boats in the port


foggy on popes island-3.jpg

Sony A7iv 42mm F11 8 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


A closer in shot of a couple of the commercial fishing boats.
Working on a fishing boat must be such a tough job, out very early morning often dealing with harsh conditions on the water, I must admit that does pass through my mind when I eat fish, thinking of the hard work fisherman have put in to catch it so we can eat it.
and I did mention dangerous I remember reading last year of a couple of incidents where commercial fisherman lost their lives at sea.


foggy on popes island-4.jpg

Sony A7iv 75mm F1 6 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


and finishing off with another shot of the empty docks inthe marina, a nice glow onthe horizon, I am sure before long I will see the private boats returning tot he water and this marina being full again


foggy on popes island-5.jpg

Sony A7iiv 30mm F11 0.8 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.639330 lat -70.917457 long Popes island New Bedford MA d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now