This content was muted by Photography Lovers moderators for not following community guidelines.

Do you have the new Sony lens in front of you? FE50mm F/1.4GM (SEL50F14GM), a highly recommended lens for Sony users.

My favourite angle of view is 50mm. Even when I use Leica, I'm enough of a 50mm maniac to collect (?) 50mm lenses by type. Many people find 50mm difficult. According to the people who say it's difficult, 50 mm is too narrow. However, I don't feel narrow at all. If it's narrow, you can take a vertical photo, and if it's not enough to capture the whole image, it's good to cut off a part of it and put it in a photo that stimulates the imagination.

image.png

I started with Sony last year with the Sony ZV-E1. I tried to shoot a video with the Leica SL, but I was overwhelmed by the heavy weight, so I gave up after hanging on. Sony, who started with the ZV-E1, was really amazing. It was so amazing that I didn't have to worry about accurate AF and fast AF for all moving people/subjects. Also, for a person like me who shoots alone, this function was like a blessing.

After that, I was anxious about the image quality, so I bought the Sony ZV-E10 and finally the A7C. With the G lens of the A7C, I was quite satisfied with the image quality. But human greed doesn't end here. After buying the FE85mm F/1.4 GM lens, I wanted to buy a GM lens with the same angle of view that I like after seeing the taste (?) of the GM lens.

However, the FE 50mm F/1.2 GM lens is too heavy. The 85mm is also heavy, but I could put up with it because I'm not a guy who uses it as my main power source every day, but 50mm is impossible. As if reading my mind, Sony released the FE 50mm F/1.4 GM lens.

image.png

image.png

image.png

Instead of being darker at one point from F/1.2 -> F/1.4 (of course, F/1.4 is also a bright enough lens...), it's lighter. Compared to the 85mm F/1.4 GM lens, it is definitely light. The size is not too big either. In a word, great! I opened it up to f/1.4 and took some pictures.

image.png
Sony A7M4, FE 50 mm F/1.4 GM (SEL50F14GM)

Because the fog filter was used, it expresses itself a bit softer, but it is quite sharp. At f/1.4, the focus area is very sharp.

image.png
Sony A7M4, FE 50 mm F/1.4 GM (SEL50F14GM)

I looked into the eyes of the boatman in front of my desk. The ones outside the focus area start to blur. Even the parrot face. On the other hand, the image below, taken at f/5.6, shows the whole boat very clearly.

image.png
Sony A7M4, FE 50 mm F/1.4 GM (SEL50F14GM)

Just the way I like it!

I need to use this guy to take pictures, and catch up with the next event soon.

Anyway, Sony is getting more and more. like the Leica. Um... it's over now, isn't it? Isn't it? One is more subtle, but....

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now