Gray Hairstreak butterfly on Sedum flowers - Macro Photography

In the last few weeks the buds of one of my succulents has started to attract pollinators. The flowers will take a few weeks to fully open, but that does not stop the insects from
getting a taste through the petals. While I was watching what kind of insects were visiting this plant I saw a butterfly I have not seen before. And after a little search online I figured out its a Gray Hairstreak. Which are common around where I live, just never seemed to notice them. What caught my attention was its back of its wings, how they appeared frayed and had bright colors to them. This helped me figure out exactly what kind of butterfly it was.

Camera ModelLumix GH3
LensOlympus MSC ED M. 60mm Macro lens
Filternone
Aperturef/2.8
Shutter Speed1/2500 sec
Film Speed200
SpectrumVisual Light
Wavelength380 through 700 nanometers
LocationNorth Georgia USA.

These butterflies will move the backs of their wings while feeding on nectar. From what I have read they do this to throw off prey that may ambush them while feeding. I have some video of this behavior I will post soon, along with many other insects visiting this succulent flower cluster.

More info on this butterfly:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gray_hairstreak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency