Macro World from My Point of View (Entry for Photography Contest - Macro Theme)

Macro photography is interesting for me, it can make me see things from different perspectives. Something small can look larger. Something ordinary can look completely different, extraordinary, or unfamiliar.

Anyway, can you guess what object this is?

Macro 01.jpeg

When I saw that there was a macro photography contest on the Photography Lovers community in Hive, I’d like to join it for amateur tier.

I don't have any new macro photos, but I have some old ones instead. I had a macro lens for smartphones but it’s broken now. So I searched for old photos that I took with my old macro lens.

Let me tell you a little bit about my old macro lens.

Macro 01b.jpeg

I bought it in 2018, because I was interested in macro photos that some of my friends posted on their IGs, and I really wanted to try it. Finally I bought a macro lens for a smartphone from an online marketplace. The item was good, but I wasn't satisfied with the image results. At that time, I had to shoot too close to the object, and the depth of the image wasn't what I expected.

And then I realized, it turned out my macro lens is too small, while theirs were bigger. My bad. I didn't consult with them before deciding to buy it. 🤦‍♀

Lesson learnt:
Before buying a macro lens, you had to ask or consult with someone professional or who has experience. Don't impulsively buy one just because you saw some random online reviews. Or, take time to research many products before you decide to buy one.

Well, macro lens have already been bought, and I can't buy another macro lens yet. So I used that lens to take pictures of the objects around me. Anything macro but the famous flowers and insects. Here are some of the images I took.

Macro 02.jpeg
Not wooden logs

Macro 03.jpg
Just toothpick

Macro 05.jpeg
Green plastic Nano Block

Macro 04.jpeg
Sleep deprived eye

Macro 06.jpeg
Not so soft towel fabric

Macro 07.jpeg
Speaker holes

Macro 08.jpeg
Tunnel of ring binder


But my macro lens's age was quite short. Just a few months later, the clip was broken. So I never use it anymore nor buy the new one. At least, not yet.

That's all my old macro lens story.

Thank you for stopping by and reading this post. See you again!



This post is my entry for Photography Contest - Macro Theme
Tier: Amateur
All images original photo by me @sigota (2018)
Camera: Xiaomi mi5s
Lense: Macro 5mm
Edit: Snapseed

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency