Before and After - Re-Edited Old Photos

Yup, more re-edits. Again, much better software and hardware now. These were shot from my kayak, in 2010. I did not own underwater housing gear for my camera yet, so I had to be careful about not getting it wet. The paddle out to these boulders was early and dark but worth it.

A flash was used on the camera, in order to light up the bottom of Lake Tahoe and the boulders. The scene looked very different without the flash firing.

Tahoe-Boulders-at-Sunrise-5.jpg

I've sold many prints of the above image over the years. It has always looked nice. But I am a whole lot happier with the re-edited version below. Again, a bad ass perfectly calibrated monitor plus major improvements to Adobe Photoshop can really make a difference. I believe I originally edited these on a 17" Macbook Pro, 2007 version. The monitor was calibrated using a Spyder puck back then, but again, improvements...

_MG_2691rev.jpg

Tahoe-Boulders-at-Sunrise-6.jpg

Here's the vertical versions. Original edit above, new version below.

_MG_2695rev.jpg

These should look a lot better on canvas or as framed prints now. The digital noise and sharpness have also been improved a touch. Even though they were shot on a 21 megapixel camera, I know from experience that I can print these up on a 40"x60" canvas and they will look sharp. A big metal or acrylic print is a different story. They show so much detail that I wouldn't print this bigger than a 30"x40" on those materials. The 50 megapixel camera I have works for big acrylics and metals.

Anyway, thanks for looking and I hope you are all having a great weekend!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

headshotwlogo.jpg

Re-Edits, Post 1
Re-Edits, Post 2
Re-Edits, Post 3
Re-Edits, Post 4
Re-Edits, Post 5
Re-Edits, Post 6
Re-Edits, Post 7
Re-Edits, Post 8

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency