This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Red pill, red pill



Yesterday, I received a text message with a notification telling me my medication is ready to be picked up. Medication? What medication? A little bit confused as I was, I called my general practitioner to ask what it was about.


Well, the blood test came in, and apparently, I had a shockingly low Vitamin D running in my blood (<10nnol/L). Lol... I was already prepared to die of a weird disease. So. yeh... Tired? Exhausted. I kinda feel relieved now that I know that my exhausted feeling was justified. The question is, how long have I been dealing with this low Vitamin D? Holy shit, I'm so grateful for the trip last year to Paris, as I probably wouldn't have come out of the house much otherwise. In case you're not aware of how "shocking" this <10 nnol/L is, my entire Vitamin D storage was depleted. As much as it was exhausting, I was too. Normal people should have between 50-110 nnol/L in their blood. Whereas, 50 already could give you symptoms of feeling tired. It does make a lot of sense now. I'm Asian, and I live in the Netherlands.


Bruh, I'm laughing and trying to compose myself as it is a serious matter. Here I was, thinking I'd die of some irreversible liver disease while it was going to take control for the rest of my life. Dramatic I know lol. Vitamin D. The poor procrastinating lil bastard in me should get his ass kicked. Like, a bare minimum of 15 minutes walking distance away from home-kicked. I feel a bit ashamed and relieved that we know at least one thing that's wrong with my physical well-being. Glad I reached out to the doctor, to be honest. Apparently, it's a pretty serious thing if you have low Vitamin D values for a longer period. That probably may explain why I fucking magically broke my rib last year. I thought it was coughing that did the trick, but I couldn't imagine how much coughing power (over 900 probably) it would take to break a break (twice). If this is really the case... what the actual F.


It kinda also explains why I felt like forgetting stuff during the day or can't come up with words as I speak. Felt like I was getting dumber and dumber every single day. I'm glad though, that I haven't really got depressed feelings or emotions, as that seems to be usually the case when you don't have enough Vitamin D. Or another conclusion would be that my life is already super depressing, and it couldn't get any worse #darkhumor.



©2023 - Ruben Cress


Anyway... I didn't know about it being so low until @lackofcolor responded really surprised by the amount of Vitamin D I had to take. "What number is on there?", well... I have no clue what it all means, but I'm guessing you mean this... oh wait... that's a pretty long number for a pill? 10,000, no wait, 100,000 UNITS. "WHAT? THAT'S A LOT!". Like, I have no idea, but she used to work in a pharmacy, so I guess momma knows best eh? So, moving forward, after speaking with the assistant of my general practitioner, she told me we were going to wait and see how my Vitamin D levels will be in 3 months and do another check. In the meantime, they're going to do a little bit more research, but I have a feeling that this may be a big part of all of it.


Before taking the pill I took some photographs of it and wanted to make something cool out of it. It got me thinking about how such a small pill could help me feel better.




©2023 - Ruben Cress




©2023 - Ruben Cress


Gradients

I didn't really think about it, as when I'm in a creative state of mind, I just start creating. It's a process I sometimes can't control. I kinda like making gradients.




©2023 - Ruben Cress




©2023 - Ruben Cress


Where were we?

Oh yeah... It's already 2 hours later. Time does travel with the mind. Where were we again? Ah... I was talking about the Vitamin D pill and how I tried to photograph it in a creative way. I used just this photograph to make all of the above. Pretty cool!



©2023 - Ruben Cress


Take your Vitamin D!

If you didn't already know, taking Vitamin D is crucial for our bodies. If you're a little bit tinted like me or colored, and you moved to a "colder" country, you definitely should make sure that you're getting enough Vitamin D. Trust me, you don't wanna end up like me, waking up exhausted, etc.

That being said, I'm curious how things will move forward from now on, I'll try to keep you guys updated, but I think that this should hopefully change for the better soon.

Cheers,
Ruben



Follow me on Foundation | Follow me on Twitter | Follow me on Instagram



Logo
Center