[Artwork] Head in the clouds







H E A D   I N   T H E   C L O U D S

Artwork / A n i m a l s

by Ruben Cress







Ruben Cress | Head in the clouds








S u m m a r y

Out of curiosity, I decided to test and push my skills in Photoshop. I've been retouching photographs for over 10 years, and occasionally, I push myself to go a bit further than just "basic" retouching. Creating photo manipulations is one way to get to know your limits. And these limits can become friends that we can learn from. For this specific artwork, I wanted to create something that'd be fun to look at. As if giraffes have such long necks, right?

In order to create this artwork, I used 3 different photographs. One specific technique that I have wanted to melt down in my brain, was working with different light-layering techniques. The idea behind this technique is to select X% transparency over the entire image. This is usually done by selecting a few of the RGB channels (and combined ones). Just a simple, yet so powerful technique. If you look closely at the artwork above and pay attention to the cloud that is passing the neck of the giraffe in the background, you notice it's not entirely transparent, giving another layer of depth to the artwork.

Below, you'll find examples of what I mean. I kind of enjoy these cropped versions as well.









Ruben Cress | Head in the clouds








Ruben Cress | Head in the clouds








Ruben Cress | Head in the clouds








Ruben Cress | Framed 'Head in the clouds'





Pushing myself to do 1 quality (short) post every single day

It has been 10 consecutive days that I've been photographing, creating, and writing my posts. It surely boosts my creativity and helps a lot with my English writing. I notice improvements in building sentences and see a pattern in making the same mistakes. Oh well, the next step is to engage a bit more with the platform like I used to. I still find it difficult to write my reactions in English. I hope you enjoyed the artwork :)

Cheers,
Ruben




Follow me on Foundation | Follow me on Twitter | Follow me on Instagram



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency