American football in the Heart of Czechia

Three weeks ago I wrote an article with photos about soccer, and @krakonos in the comments raised the question if I would take a picture with my mobile phone. I took it as a challenge, and this weekend I went to the ballgame again and took pictures.

So as you can see, it's not soccer, it's football. And the first two pictures are really taken with a cell phone.

Před třemi týdny jsem napsal článek s fotkama o fotbalu, a @krakonos v komentářích nadhodil, jestli bych to nenafotil mobilem. Vzal jsem to jako výzvu, a tenhle víkend jsem šel znovu na fotbal a fotil.

Tak jak vidíte, není to fotbal, je to americký fotbal. A první dvě fotky jsou opravdu focené mobilem.

Of course, I know they are two different sports and I didn't make a mistake, I went into it quite deliberately. I mean, I found out by accident that this sport is played in Přerov, and even at a high level.

To tell you the truth, I hadn't followed this sport at all, and I knew it only from American movies or from snippets on youtube. But when I saw it live at the stadium this time, I liked it.

In fact, after watching the first game, I already find "European" soccer boring.

Samozřejmě vím, že jsou to dva různé sporty a nespletl jsem se, šel jsem na to zcela úmyslně. Totiž úplnou náhodou jsem se dozvěděl, že se tento sport v Přerově hraje, a dokonce na vysoké úrovni.

Popravdě řečeno, zatím jsem tento sport prakticky vůbec nesledoval, a znal jsem ho jen z amerických filmů nebo z útržků na youtube. Ale když jsem ho tentokrát viděl na stadiónu naživo, zalíbil se mi.

Vlastně, po shlédnutí prvního zápasu mi už "evropský" fotbal připadá nudný.

American football is a sport for everyone. As you can see from some of the photos, not only the "gazelles" but also the "hippos" will play in the first league team. That's not bodyshaming, that's just a realistic observation.

My second observation is that although football is a tough game, it is not only won with speed and brute force, but also (or mainly) with the head. That is to say, I feel rehearsed signals, field orientation, and above all sophisticated tactics mean more to this game than muscle. Even if it doesn't seem like it at first glance.

One more thing about the toughness: there was an ambulance ready on the pitch and it wasn't there for nothing. After about half an hour, one of the home players ended up with his foot in an inflatable splint.

Americký fotbal je sport pro každého. Jak je z některých fotek zřejmé, v prvoligovém mužstvu se uplatní nejen "gazely", ale i "hroši". To není žádný bodyshaming, to je prostě realistický postřeh.

Druhý můj postřeh je ten, že i když je fotbal tvrdá hra, tak se nevyhrává jen rychlostí a hrubou silou, ale také (nebo hlavně) hlavou. Totiž mám za to, nacvičené signály, orientace na hřišti a především propracovaná taktika této hře znamená víc, než svaly. I když se to na první pohled nezdá.

Ještě k té tvrdosti: Na hřišti byla připravená sanitka a nebyla tam zbytečně. Zhruba po půlhodině skončil jeden s hráčů domácích s nohou v nafukovací dlaze.

I don't want to overreact, it was actually my first live contact with this sport, but I think Prerov Mammooths have one more fan.

Nechci přehánět, vlastně to byl můj první živý kontakt s tímto sportem, ale myslím, že Přerov Mammooths mají o jednoho fanouška víc.

sepa.png
Thank you for taking the time to read this post, if you have any questions, criticisms or suggestions I would appreciate it if you would throw them in the comments box

vote_follow.png

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency