A narrow escape.

Missed a bad accident by the skin of my teeth. Thankfully the driver of an oncoming car saw what I was going to do, and he slowed down.
It all happened in seconds.
001.jpg

If I braked, the tree would have fallen on the top of our car, but I swerved to the right into the opposite lane trying to avoid the tree. We heard the screaming scratches of the tree on our car as we passed the tree.
I parked our car immediately behind the fallen tree and I tried to call the owner of the property as there was no bell on the gate.

The tree bust the cement paneled fence wall on its way down.
041.JPG

044.JPG

Yep! That fence now had a big gap in it.
048.JPG

Shame, our car had some bad scratches on it, but rather scratches than a caved in roof or either of us hurt.
017.JPG

Scratches right back to the rear light.
022.JPG

A neighbor heard what was going on and in typical South African fashion, fetched a long-handled saw and started cutting the branches off that protruded into the road.
006.JPG

After a while, the owner of the property's daughter arrived and she swopped some details with my wife for insurance purposes.
058.JPG

Just look at the size of that baby. One cannot say that it is an old tree, because it looks healthy, but it must have been in sandy soil that can never stand up against our strong winds.
027.JPG

Finally, the road was cleared and the dual way was open again for traffic.
007.JPG

Now here is another sad thing. We had to go to the police station to do a damage report, with the idea that we will submit the report to our insurance for the repairs. I say again, sad news as we were informed at the police station that the insurance will not cover accidents by the forces of nature. So now I will have to fix the car myself, and it comes at a time when we are not very well off in the wallet. Reason being, we have just had to spend a big amount on the medical equipment for my iron infusion series that starts again soon.
But be it as it may, we shall overcome as usual.

I am not going to say here that I hope you have enjoyed the photos, as it was certainly not an enjoyable experience, but we are grateful that nobody was hurt.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting this post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
186 Comments
Ecency