The HIVE Tour - Episode 8b - Belgrade

The highest monument as far as I can see here at Kalemegdan in Belgrade is the Winner's statue. Undoubtedly the winner must have a winning view from up there:

DSC_0050.JPG

A rather shorter fellow is right behind me as I picture the "winner" though:
DSC_0051.JPG

Hence he manages to catch the view from that view point instead of me but I'd be the last to complain to a cute kid like this:

DSC_0052.JPG

That view though...
DSC_0053.JPG

This fortress might be medieval but as you can easily imagine it was also used later for similar reasons hence this bunker:
DSC_0056.JPG

DSC_0055.JPG

It's got a very deep and steep entrance:

DSC_0058.JPG

Which I didn't try cause no matter how long I waited there was too much crowd for my taste down there.

This is 75 years old but let's go back to the Roman years:

DSC_0059.JPG

DSC_0060.JPG

That's the entrance to the local Roman well. In fact, we have only gone back to the Austrohungarian years as this is the era this was built. How come the "Roman"? Even locals wonder. I didn't enter as I prefer to enjoy the outdoors side of things at the moment, especially in the short time I have before it gets dark.

One narrow corridor,

DSC_0063.JPG

leads to a much wider view:

DSC_0065.JPG

DSC_0064.JPG

Heavy chains:
DSC_0066.JPG

The winner's statue from one more angle:
DSC_0067.JPG

While it represents the win of Serbians during the Balkan wars, 100 years ago his ass was kicked out of the center of the city because of... his ass. It was too embarrassing for the ethics of that era so now we enjoy it at this much more scenic location.

I said scenic didn't I?
DSC_0068.JPG

DSC_0069.JPG

DSC_0072.JPG

Too much garden to fit in one frame around here:
DSC_0070.JPG

Walking South by the walls of the castle next to Sava river is impossible to regret, especially as the latter are flattered by the sun which is close to set:
DSC_0073.JPG

DSC_0074.JPG

DSC_0075.JPG

DSC_0076.JPG

DSC_0077.JPG

At the South end of Kalemegdan park, to my surprise, I see a gathering of old cars. From humble ones like this pair,
DSC_0078.JPG

to more fancy ones like this:
DSC_0079.JPG

What a lovely Mercedes right? Behind stands an even older one though:
DSC_0080.JPG

Those two really tell how automotion evolved in between. Speaking of in between though, here is a unique gem born between the birthdays of those two above:
DSC_0082.JPG

DSC_0083.JPG

What a sweet thing! Though I am not tempted to put my ass over those red seats on a hot day (trust me you sweat your ass off literally) I'd love to take it for a spin so much.

Would you like a car like this as your "just married" one?
DSC_0081.JPG

A piece of Belgrade lies in the background just in case you had enough of cars already:
DSC_0084.JPG

Inside the South end of Kalemegdan park is where it looks more like a park than any of each parts:
DSC_0085.JPG

DSC_0086.JPG

DSC_0090.JPG

DSC_0087.JPG

DSC_0088.JPG

DSC_0089.JPG

If you wonder how come all that crowd I must tell you that this is a Sunday.

See the light beaming right by one of Serbia's greatest authors:

DSC_0091.JPG

There's old cars in here too - this one is nearly 100 years old:
DSC_0092.JPG

And that's where the park ends,

DSC_0093.JPG

and the city begins:
DSC_0094.JPG

Let's have a break here and we continue the walk on the next part 😉

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency