High Lakes Hike

Follow along as I take you on a visual tour of a couple high mountain lakes in central Oregon. Well, maybe only a lake and a quarter as you will see. 😂


I took this shot about halfway through my hike. Little Three Creek Lake under Tam McArtur Rim.
Click images for larger view

divider hive1.PNG

Let's start at the beginning though. Below is a Google Earth map I made of my route this day.

It was only about a mile and a half round trip trek but at nearly 7000 feet elevation my oldmans lungs were feeling it. 😉 I had been up to Little Three Creek Lake before but had started more to the right side of this image. This time I started near Three Creeks Lake.

****

After I struggled up the first little incline I got my first view of the Tam McArthur Rim Lookout. I would like to get up there someday but realized I will need a lot more training before that is possible. 😀


A couple of nature's sculptures along the way.


Click images for larger view


This was supposed to be Tam McArthur Rim over a small lake but as you can see it is quite dry. I'm not sure if it normally dries up each year of if our protracted years long drought has anything to do with it. Most maps I looked at do show a body of water here.


It wasn't all in vain though. I did find a small puddle of the lake left and was able to get a nice small reflection shot.


Here is the same shot from above cropped and inverted for a little creative fun time. 😃

A couple more tries at reflection shots but by now a small breeze had come up and there just wasn't much water to work with.



While there wasn't much fall coloring tree wise, the ground cover was definitely beginning to change.


As I followed the path toward the end of the lake I surrounded by a visual feast of different shades of greens, yellows, and reds.


A few shots of the stream that was still supplying water to Little Three Creeks Lake.


A last look at the lake as I begin my way back.


My path back took me on the opposite side of the dried up lake. There I found another small puddle as the only reminder of the lake.

Please feel free to make comments or ask me any questions about this post.

Photos taken by me, @oldmans, with a Nikon D3300 and some Lightroom post processing.
Please visit Pinmapple to see the locations of some of my other posts.
Thanks for looking and enjoy your day!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency