Siren Light Show

Siren Light Show

Page break.png
RUSH

01_RUSH.JPG
Page break.png
Sirens scream dancing in from all directions. The end of my street is lit up like roman candles punching out through the dark. Six police cars, three fire trucks, and two paramedic trucks. No smoke billowing, no flames whatsoever; lit only with noise and light fire flashing out.

Some stranger asks me what I’m taking photographs of. I know where this is headed. He’s a talker. I don’t want conversation. Timing is everything with this light show, if I even get any decent shots. I tell him the fire trucks, no further explanation. He continues on talking as I drift away. He gets the message, no chatter bug, only shutter bug and trails off.
Page break.png
FIRETRUCK FRENZY

02_FIRETRUCK FRENZY.JPG
Page break.png
In a city bustling with millions rushing, it amazes me how taking photos with a camera on the street is an invitation to conversation with strangers. Then again, the last two years are the only time I’ve ever done this with camera in tow. I don’t typically take pictures of the city for many reasons. I’ve forgotten how creating in public draws attention.

I’ve drawn often in public for a long while. People approaching to talk and ask questions when they see you creating is common experience. It slipped my attention until recently. Often, I pause to have a chat. Almost always, it’s with a person I’ll never see again. I’ve had some interesting conversations. Some people have posed for photos when I've asked. Fun times and unexpected experiences. This night was an exception. Sometimes I decline the invitation in various ways, especially if I don’t wish to be interrupted.

Blocking the street half way down were police cars flashing furiously. They reflected off an old Victorian style stone and brick townhouse with a modern wooden staircase. In this case, a lightcase. I shot the following series playing around exposure time and subtle camera movements.
Page break.png
LIGHTSTAIRS I

03_LIGHTSTAIRS I.JPG
Page break.png
LIGHTSTAIRS II

04_LIGHTSTAIRS II.JPG
Page break.png
LIGHTSTAIRS III

05_LIGHTSTAIRS III.JPG
Page break.png
LIGHTSTAIRS IV

06_LIGHTSTAIRS IV.JPG
Page break.png
LIGHTSTAIRS V

07_LIGHTSTAIRS V.JPG
Page break.png
All those fire trucks, paramedics, and police looking like actors on a set, standing around talking, waiting for their cues. Stage set. Missing props. No director calling action, this can’t be a Hollywood projection, or is it? Film crews are a common occurrence here. None of that set up and entourage in sight anywhere. All for naught in a puff of colours.
Page break.png
WINDOW FIRE

08_WINDOW FIRE.JPG
Page break.png
Walking off away from the dancing lights, down a small street into the night, I watched a guy take a different turn, rolling baggage on sidewalk, kind of forlorn. Never found out the story of that night that provided the bright painting lights, so I returned back to blue to contemplate my state.
Page break.png
BLUE RETURN

09_BLUE RETURN.JPG
Page break.png
All photos taken by Nine with a Pentax digital 35mm camera.
Page break.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
86 Comments
Ecency