Tying the Knot!

I’ve had a couple of friends who got married and I offered them 80% discount from the fees they should be paying for hiring me. Most of them didn’t accept my offer to shoot them for free hence the 80% discount.


I love capturing their moments and seeing their eyes glow with love as they gaze at each other’s faces. I feel so honored to be able to give them the candid photos they’ll be treasuring for the rest of their married lives. I giggle over their cute awkwardness when their cuddling is caught by the lenses. Looking at them makes me believe that love truly exist!


11E0BB7B-73DC-452C-9385-F86D42428400.jpeg

The latest couple that I worked with is a close friend of mine since high school. She contacted me while I was in Bohol just this summer. She’s one of those people I adore for being transparent, generous, and kind. So when she asked me to be their photographer, I didn’t hesitate and gave them my positive response with much excitement.

763A033E-4429-46DA-9279-9B8E7B61FFB0.jpeg

It was a week before their scheduled wedding when she informed me so we didn’t have much time preparing for it. We did the photoshoot right after the wedding ceremony. She brought me to the nearby hill and with just the two of them and their love for each other we captured the beginning of their lovely journey as husband and wife.

89D0023A-59A0-4B07-8A2E-9EA552D92645.jpeg

We never planned on anything extravagant since they asked me to just photograph them with realness. So we agreed on doing simple photoshoot with very minimal props.

9980F293-BA1E-4F6A-87A5-64A8971A29B6.jpeg

Being there, looking at them through the lens of my camera, is truly an exceptional experience. I am really happy that they liked all the photos even if I only had a day to edit everything.


My Gear

Since I sold my Fujifilm XA3 which I mentioned in my previous blog, I am now using Nikon D5600. I only have three lenses at the moment - two kit lens and one prime lens. My two kit lens are 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6G VR lens and 70-300mm F/4.5-6.3G ED lens. While my prime lens is an AF-S Nikkor 35mm F/1.8G lens.

My Editing Tools

For this specific set of photos, I wasn’t able to use the Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom in the laptop because I didn’t have it at the moment I was editing. Luckily, I managed to edit all the photos in my iphone 6s using Lightroom and Picsart only. Both of these apps are neither premium nor in free trial which means I barely had the tools I needed to properly edit the photos hence the use of Picsart.

Tips

Bring one more camera if possible. You need to be constantly alert on every movement of the couple. Talk to them and make them laugh. Ask about their first date and their most unforgettable moment together. Ask about their future plans. Just make sure they’ll feel comfortable and won’t mind the lenses looking straight at them. I am not a pro and can’t suggest poses as many as possible so making them cuddle each other is your key in taking lovely photos.


Author’s note

I will be sharing next time how I edit my photos using just my mobile phone. Thank you for reading this far. I hope you enjoyed this and please let me know what you think about this post in the comment section below.


This has been @nikkabomb saying, "You don’t just take photos of what you see but you take photos of what you feel."


Nikka Mededa, the author

I am an engineer, a mother, an aspiring photographer, and also a blogger. A workaholic mom who found its comfort through brewing coffee and making home-cooked meals. I write and read a lot but I think I collect books even more. And there’s nothing more fulfilling than finally ticking off the books my reading list. Hopefully, one day!

I really love to fulfill my childhood dream of becoming an author and so here I am, in my little corner in the blockchain. I hope you had a good read and check out more here ---> @nikkabomb. Lovelots.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency