Photography composition that created my happy ever after! (Part 01)


6FCE0391-385D-44DF-99C9-3D4C2D0142B7.jpeg

Hello fellow hivers! @nikkabomb here for another story telling. It's been a while since I last posted in this amazing community of awesome people with overflowing talent on photography. I actually didn't have much photos to share because I wasn't able to retrieve them. That's a sad story you won't like to hear. So let's jump off to the story on photography and love.


Rule of Thirds


Who says love ain't have a rule? Well, it has one universal rule and that is faithfulness! It is focusing only on one even when he/she might not be the center of your universe yet! When I met this man whom I didn't know I was going to marry, I was focused on myself. The center of my universe was me. But he came in the outskirt of a picture I was trying to take. And that's when he started to become an interesting part of my life.

Rule of thirds in photography doesn't have to be the center of the photo hence the name "rule of thirds". When taking a shot, you may opt to use gridlines (horizontals and verticals) which will help you a lot in better compositions. Then put the important elements of your photo on or near an intersection of the four lines that equally divided your frame both horizontally and vertically. And voila! rule of thirds it is!

EDDBF945-7E0F-42ED-B7A7-1BE3F2D8A39B.jpeg

CC130BB3-09B0-41BF-A335-7107AE864896.jpeg

AB66500D-EE8A-4722-83DD-32862188E6B4.jpeg

1374F8EE-6C60-4CDE-9E05-7068F9C5E9EB.jpeg

4134EA8D-0C09-4C51-91AD-58EFA17CD5D5.jpeg


Golden Triangle


Golden triangle may somehow be similar with rule of thirds because both of them use basic shape to highlight the subject. It has not been long since I practiced this rule of composition. I really do like how the diagonals create a more dynamic photo. The key in this rule of composition are the diagonals and triangles. Honestly, I personally want to practice more on this since I think I overused rule of thirds so much. lol

Relationships get boring over time. The usual things that make your heart flutter sometimes become unnoticeable. My husband and I had hit rock bottom before realizing how much we aren’t truly ready of letting go. So we tried looking at certain things differently and created a more vibrant approach to what we thought is already boring. It really is true that sometimes what we need is a little change of perspective. Just like how golden ratio added vibrance and excitement to rule of thirds.

E9B8DC2F-54D9-48AC-A592-A4F07EAC2A0D.jpeg

7E665107-0235-4F4E-955B-1C7B4EFEDCD9.jpeg

E9D999FF-E541-49C8-82EE-E00A005D7D88.jpeg


Golden Ratio


Best things never come easy! In my journey towards the happy ever after that I imagined when he put on the wedding ring in my tiny finger, I learned that even how difficult the marriage can be you will still be able to find balance for a harmonious household. The right amount of nagging as to why the used socks aren’t in the hamper must be proportional to the times you cuddle, understand, and love each other. It’s the cosmos’ rule - the golden ratio or the divine proportion.

When I first tried this rule of composition, I started with anything that has natural spirals or has structurally designs of spirals - a bud of rose, stairs, etc. Then I challenged myself to find golden ratio on other subjects which I still haven’t mastered. It sure is quite hard compared to the previously mentioned rules but I think it’s pretty much worth it.

0AFFE2D1-EB38-4C84-88A1-4A5C891AF100.jpeg

A6B8F532-D2DA-4C09-A00A-5A29FAD35DB7.jpeg

E23D8670-EF4D-42BD-AB0E-BF54AC3C7E6E.jpeg

E10E1092-9055-46E2-8F13-E612CF07DE10.jpeg

9E546B49-EF83-4C97-8D6D-8E0E7AFF6A55.jpeg


I was told by a mentor before that even if I don’t have the most expensive gear I still can create good photos through good composition. Because after all, the first thing we notice is the photo’s overall impact.

Same goes with relationships, he/she may not have the fanciest clothes or car but if his/her attitude is properly composed then nothing could go wrong. Think of having good manners as good composition and you’ll know why the latter is important.

I personally want to brag about the person I have found. He may not be perfect and so do I but what matters to me is how we created balance in our relationship and how we found interesting perspectives to view each other from.


P.S. This is still part 01 of our photo composition lesson 101, I’ll be back soon for the remaining rules of composition you would surely easily learn from me. Thank you for reading the whole blog. I do hope you learned something from me. And lastly, I hope that I wasn’t too cringey and cheesy. hehehe


4969E338-57A8-4B1D-BA8E-195F08BC7693.jpeg

Nikka Mededa, the author

I am an engineer, a mother, an aspiring photographer, and also a blogger. A workaholic mom who found its comfort through brewing coffee and making home-cooked meals. I write and read a lot but I think I collect books even more. And there’s nothing more fulfilling than finally ticking off the books my reading list. Hopefully, one day!

I really love to fulfill my childhood dream of becoming an author and so here I am, in my little corner in the blockchain. I hope you had a good read and check out more here ---> @nikkabomb. Lovelots.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency