Welcome to the Jungle!

Wolf spiders come in several sizes and it's usually the bigger one that wins!
DSC03403-2.jpg
I usually have trouble getting the face of this type of spider. They are active hunters roving from spot to spot pausing from time to time to rush out and grab what they can. This day I spotted the large spider as it rushed out of cover and then stopped, it wasn't until I was editing the photos that I saw it had caught another smaller wolf spider for dinner! While the spider's venom is quick to act, it is not instantaneous so the spider must stay still until it is sure that the prey item will not run away. It does give a good chance to get a good shot of the spider. Initially, I had too wide of an aperture setting and while the bokeh behind the spider was pleasing, the front legs were also completely blurred out. After checking the photo, I changed the settings and was able to capture a much better image!

DSC03403.jpg

Incredibly important for keeping pest species under control wolf spiders are one of the few spiders that show some care for their offspring!
As they do not build stationary webs, the famale spider will carry around a ball shaped egg-sac until the little spiderlings hatch. After that, she transports them safely as they cling to her abdomen.
DSC04173-1-2.jpg

As the young spiders mature and molt they will become more independent and wander off when they are ready. They do not eat their mother! That is an unfounded and cruel myth.

I hope you enjoy spiders as much as I do! and if not, I hope that some knowledge and familiarity can help you come to appreciate them more!

Have a great day!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency