Dad & Son: Fish Master's

Visitation


Our Catch.jpg

Photo By Me - Iphone 11

Welcome all! I had visitation of my son this weekend. That's correct. Visitation. I am divorced twice with a child from each. You can start to imagine how difficult this can be, but I digress. I usually try to get both of them on schedule with one another, but I was unable to get my younger boy this weekend.

I normally try to do some sort of activity with them in attempts to make the time one of quality. This weekend we decided to go fishing... well, I did anyway (haha). My older son hasn't been so much of a fan of it lately as he's been consistently skunked. We were finally able to change that last in April, when he caught the only two fish between all of us.

Fishing is Therapeutic

Braxton pondering lifes questions.jpg

Photo By Me - Iphone 11


My son only wanted to throw out sink lines. He is different than me in this, where I usually want to be reeling (haha). Perhaps this is due to my ADHD. I caught this picture of my son watching his two poles. It gave me a thought.

Fishing is therapeutic! It allows you a space to just forget and clear your mind, ponder life's questions, and relax, naturally! If he doesn't realize it now, I'm sure he will. I think this is part of why many people (myself included) love to go fishing. As kids it was never as fun unless you were catching something. Although this is still true as an adult, I think we realize these effects and how we feel just being out in the sun, by the water, enjoying nature.

Anticipation!


Braxton waiting to set the hook.jpg

Photo By Me - Iphone 11 - My oldest getting ready to set the hook


I love teaching my boys to fish and watching them learn and experience it. I have been teaching them to take their own lines out of their fishes mouth, tie fishing knots on their line, baiting their own hooks, and applying my tips for when the line is in the water. I love to see them get excited when they are about to catch a fish (such as in the above photo) or have one on the line. I get excited with them and it's so awesome!

Well, thank you for stopping by and taking the time to read! I am trying to take more photos and improve the quality of them as well. I hope to post more in this community, I just need to make some time available.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency