Nnena's tin can hairstyle for Nigeria's Independence day celebration photos.

Nnenna is one of my favorite clients, simply because she loves photographs of herself simply for the fun of it. In these parts, it's rare to see people indulge in photo sessions simply for the fun of it; especially non-celebrities.

Nnenna is trying to become a lifestyle blogger though, so I quite understand her need for photos consistently. And luckily, I'm always available to deliver. This last one though was quite hilarious.

On the day of the session, Nnenna missed her way to the studio, as she has been at my studio only once. Typing out the story would make it less hilarious, but the event was. When she finally arrived, she was carrying this funny looking hairstyle laced with tin cans. I liked it though, I've seen something similar and I think it was creative. However, Nnenna felt shy about the whole thing.

It was quite surprising that she was shy about it, seeing as she purposely wanted to create that look. I teased her about it, we had a few laughs, and we got to create amazing photos.

Check them out;

PSX-20210929-201325
PSX-20211002-011231
PSX-20210929-201604
PSX-20210929-201411
PSX-20210929-202033

The photos actually were content for Nigeria's independence day celebration. An annual event that happens on the 1st of October, to celebrate our independence from British colonization. If you were Nigerian, you would guess it was by the green and white tin cans on her head.

This event used to be something very important and exciting while I was growing up. Even until like 6-years ago.
In recent times though, the event has lost its flavour, and I don't think the decline in excitement would stop anytime soon.

For independence day celebration every year, loads of creatives(photographers especially) create special content to celebrate. This year though, we could feel the huge decline. I browsed through my Instagram feed that day, and I barely came across independence day captions, talk more of photos. It showed that as a nation, we were tired. I mean, it's quite ironic to be celebrating independence day when it felt like we were still in chains. Kudos to inept leaders in government positions.

Personally, I have cared less about independence day celebration since I became knowledgeable of how bad the country was governed. As a creative, I've never invested my time and resources into creating content about it. But I had to because of Nnenna. I guess she's still patriotic.

Anyway, the content was so good to hoard in my gallery, it's why I deliberately posted the photos on Instagram the next day after the independence celebration.

My optimism about this country is hanging on a breaking thread. I hope it gets better for us.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency