Reminiscing Sunrise with OceanJet Cebu Port

Pre-pandemic, the port had been a busy bee, passengers moving in and out of the fast crafts. The fastest way to get to Tagbilaran City in the province of Bohol was through this fastcraft company called OceanJet, well, there are other options too but this one sits right in pier 1 so the are a lot of passengers here compared to the rest.

I can't count the many times that my husband and I had taken this early morning schedule en route to Bohol. I am born and raised on the island which homes the famous Chocolate Hills and the smallest primate. Our favorite spot before was to take the open-air accommodation on the second floor but then started loving the cold air-conditioned one instead in the long run.

P1050675.JPG

I was happy to bump into this folder in my hard drive of some snaps I took at the port during a sunrise. The sun was just peaking perfectly and I used the OceanJet vessel as a foreground. This was just an ordinary day, I am sure we had no masks on at that time and I was seated right next to a complete stranger inside the boat when it was boarding time.

P1050692.JPG

From the vessel, there was still an opportunity to take photos from the glass window. This was supposed to be tinted but somehow, it has been torn and so I got a clearer view from that small hole.

The one above is OceanJet's gas refiller. OceanJet had a lot of travel schedules before, now, they only do twice a day I guess, I am not even sure if they are still operating as of this writing though.

P1050699.JPG

P1050700.JPG

The vessel moved and I got a view of the port of Cebu as I was in the window seat. This is pier 1.

P1050702.JPG

Moving forward, a view of Cokaliong ship and the JSU-PSU Mariners' Court, this is a hotel. We had stayed here before with the family. They got good rooms though and the elevator has a view of the Cebu port. The building has a boat shape especially when viewed from the front.

P1050704.JPG

The vessel drifted away and I couldn't get a better photo anymore because of the movement and I was in an awkward position as well while taking the photos as the only spot that I could get a clear view is at the bottom of the window.

I miss traveling by sea vessels. I miss watching the sun rise at the port, I miss looking at the huge ships, the view of Cebu from the ship and how tiny it becomes while the vessel moves away closer to Bohol.

I wonder when will we ever get back to the old way. Perhaps that's a long way from today but I do hope that we are closer to it.

Thanks for reading this article!

!pinmapple 10.292535 lat 123.908549 long d3scr


xoxo,
junebride

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency