Compact, Front Heavy TTArtisan 35mm f/1.4 With Sample Shots

Today, I'd be sharing a personal review about the TTArtisan 35mm f/1.4, a very affordable lens that has a lot of value.

A7302278.jpg

This particular lens has MFT mount which in Full-frame terms, it has a 70mm focal length equivalent since MFT has a crop factor of 2x. Before telling you my thoughts about this lens, I would like to talk about why I bought this lens in the first place.

Just recently, I was shooting more on my Lumix GX85, my very first mirrorless camera. It has a micro four-thirds sensor, smaller than APS-C. Bought it a few years back when I started to have an interest in shooting videos. The main selling point for me back then was IBIS which is really really good in this camera. Sadly, the IBIS system was damaged because I dropped this camera. Actually, it's not me but a kid accidentally bumped it while I was shooting a timelapse video and it fell to a concrete floor. It was on a window because I forgot to bring a tripod at that time. Oh well, things happen and the only one to blame is me.

A7302299.jpg

Anyway, what I like about this setup is it's very compact and the two lenses which I have for this body are also both small. First, I have this 15mm autofocus lens. for my normal field of view because it has 30mm equivalent in Full-frame terms. And the other lens that I have is this vintage lens. It's the Asahi Pentax Super Takumar 105mm f2.8 attached with this M42-MFT adapter which gives me 210mm eq of FOV. I used this for my telephoto needs.

Basically, what I'm trying to say is that I lack something in between. BTW, my favorite focal length for shooting photos is 85mm in FF terms because of the background compression it can give and it's easier for me to compose the shot with tighter FOV.

I don't want to spend a lot for another lens so I look for budget options that would fit this need. That's when I found this lens in Shopee with a price tag of less than 3k PHP. I also waited for some sale so I was able to avail some discounts upon purchasing this lens.

I just want to share with you my experience so far shooting with this lens and provide some sample shots too. Let me just share with you some thoughts about this lens.

Build Quality

I love that it's very compact plus it feels so good in the hands because it's not made of plastic but metal. It has some heft when holding the lens, actually, with the GX85 it feels like it became a bit front-heavy when this lens is attached.

The mount also felt secured and I don't see any wabble there.

Image Quality

Again, I'm using this lens for personal projects so I am not really concern about this, and also Image quality for me is subjective.

One thing to note about this lens is that it's a manual focus lens. Again, it's not a deal-breaker for me since I've been already been shooting with vintage lenses and for my use-cases, manual focusing is not a big deal.

Sample Shots

So, I just want to stop talking and share with you these sample shots that I got using this lens. These images were not edited, I uploaded them straight from the camera. No cropping or alignment is done too.

P1720872.JPG

my baby's toy push car

P1720877.JPG

front view, it even has a plate number!

P1720850.JPG

just parking right here

P1720854.JPG

no baby was harmed!

P1720875.JPG

side view

P1720876.JPG

wider shot

P1720856.JPG

starring the yellow shoes, Matti's fave!

P1720879.JPG

Matti wanted to walk so I grabbed the opportunity to take shots of the push car.

P1720857.JPG

cute little fingers :)

P1720878.JPG

BTW, I'm shooting JPEGs for my Lumix GX85 because again I'm just using the images for testing and I'm satisfied with the quality.

Thank you for reading this article and if you have the same lens, let me know what are your thoughts about the TTArtisan 35mm f/1.4 .


jean.png
J U N E B R I D E
Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art
• • •


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency