Exploring Tokyo & Nikko with X1

title.jpg

Visiting Tokyo has been on my travel list since I was a kid. I guess I was fascinated by the manga and anime movies of robotics and future city, and I am fortunate to have the opportunity to visit in summer. This is a short article about my travel experience and shooting with Leica X1 which that time I had for a few months since I bought it.

We arrived in Tokyo in the middle of summer, and we are staying in a nice small locally owned hotel located in a neighborhood in Tokyo. The city is very vibrant and exciting, with lots of things to see and experience. I was so excited and struggling to decide what to shoot!. To add on, I just had this X1 a few months ago and still unfamiliar with the camera. The equivalent 35mm focal lens is also unfamiliar territory for me ( I am very comfortable with 28mm and 50mm).

In this post, some of the shots that I took aren't strong in terms of composition. It shows that I still trying to adjust with the 35mm frame line.

One of my highlights on this trip using this camera is the macro. I found that the macro capability of this camera is excellent, and it took sharp and beautiful objects up closed.

JuliusYls_Shrine.jpg
Meiji-Jingū Shrine | ISO 100, F5.6 at 1/1000 sec

ginza.png

market.png

JuliusYls_Tokyo_portrait.jpg
“Master” thats how we call him. the chef and owner of small Isakaya shop in Tokyo. | ISO 1600, F2.8 at 1/160 sec

JuliusYls_Akihabara.jpg
Akihabara street | ISO 800, F2.8 at 1/160 sec

golden_statue.jpg
Asakusa | ISO 100, F5.6 at 1/60 sec

dol.jpg
Shibuya | ISO 800, F2.8 at 1/200 sec

redsculpture.png

JuliusYls_Tokyo_Train_driver.jpg
Tokyo train driver | ISO 800, F5.6 at 1/15 sec

The picture of the lady train driver above was taken at a slow shutter speed at 1/15 sec. I have to stick the camera to the glass divider to reduce the hand shakes, which works quite well.

CONCLUSION

This little X1 is light and yet produce excellent image quality. The classic appearance often draws people's attention at that time, but yet it kind of low-profile camera. On the last day of our trips to Japan, I am thinking that finally I found my favorite point and shot camera and I will use this camera for many trips to come.


I am currently working on Monochrome Fine Art Prints projects, and they are available at the following:
Fine Art Chromogenic Catalogue & Print: https://juliusyls.com/fineartprints/
Printed on Fine Metal: https://displate.com/juliusyls/blacknwhite?art=5bf904e078520
Tshirt prints: https://j50.threadless.com/collections/travel-in-monochrome/
Visit my STUDIO & GALLERY in Metaverse: https://spatial.io/rooms/61b846ebebd43a0001ee0b66?share=4759883995019245807

[//]:# (!pinmapple 35.688353 lat 139.786200 long  d3scr)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency