STREET CLOSE-UP || Street photography proposal from Montalbán, Venezuela

tcats.jpg


Today I woke up with the desire to edit!... Edit, edit, edit and edit a lot!. So I started to look for pictures in my RAW files from October, November and the days that have been running this December until today. I chose a dozen photos with something in common which is to be "close-up". I mean a more intimate vision which I sometimes have in the streets which drives me to make "click" on some very precise elements and away a little from the more conventional street photography.

T01.jpg
📷 01 | "Never-open door" | 50mm | 1/800s | f/4.5 | ISO 500

T02.jpg
📷 02 | "In the abandoned school" | 50mm | 1/250s | f/4 | ISO 640

T03.jpg
📷 03 | "The meter" | 50mm | 1/2000s | f/5 | ISO 200

These are photos from different days, in different light and -of course- with very different elements, some of them very different from each other. But one thing I can say for sure is that my intended processing, editing, tweaking, retouching or whatever I call everything I do on them, I did it with a nice creative anarchy and following my visual impulses of today, which aimed at striking images for the eye, with strong contrasts, dramatic sharpening and exalted saturations.... Very pleasant to do, I confess!.

T04.jpg
📷 04 | "That crazy mechanism" | 50mm | 1/640s | f/4.5 | ISO 200

T05.jpg
📷 05 | "Old Nissan's left eye" | 50mm | 1/1250s | f/3.5 | ISO 500

T06.jpg
📷 06 | "Abstract" | 50mm | 1/200s | f/4.5 | ISO 500

I try to think back to the moments when I shot these photos and I find almost always the same thing: "I find myself taking photos of quite ordinary streets and suddenly I notice something nearby that particularly attracts me"... Then I shoot and that's it!.... So these kind of photos are very visual, very "I like this and I want to take a picture of it", I guess that's the kind of thing that constant photographic practice gives us over the years.

T07.jpg
📷 07 | "Rusty I" | 50mm | 1/800s | f/4.5 | ISO 500

T08.jpg
📷 08 | "Cemetery cross" | 50mm | 1/1250s | f/3.5 | ISO 640

T09.jpg
📷 09 | "When the village had oranges" | 50mm | 1/3200s | f/3.5 | ISO 500

Suddenly I thought that this kind of photo is more psychic than it seems. Beyond their colours, their closeness and their visually appealing details, these photos also have some precise meaning associated with them. I think that's why I started titling them, which I didn't intend to do when I set out to process and edit these images when they were in RAW format.

T10.jpg
📷 10 | "Rusty II" | 50mm | 1/500s | f/4.5 | ISO 500

T11.jpg
📷 11 | "Another forgotten date" | 50mm | 1/2500s | f/3.5 | ISO 500

T12.jpg
📷 12 | "Chevrolte 6500" | 50mm | 1/250s | f/5 | ISO 400

Something that really struck me when I finished selecting these photos for today was the fact that they were all taken with my 50mm prime lens.... What an interesting coincidence... What could it be due to? I dare to think that it has to do with the "comfort" that this focal length offers to take this kind of photos. Another factor may also be the typical sharpness of the 50mm and its ability to enhance what is photographed from the moment of capture, as there is a lot of similarity between "what you see" and "the way it registers on the sensor". But, be that as it may, I couldn't help but be surprised to review the EXIF data and confirm this commonality of the twelve photos selected among a large number of RAWS files over the last three months.


MONOCHROME VERSIONS

And of course! Being photos with a high psychic charge and drama, then I couldn't help but share the monochrome versions of these with you!... (Please CLICK on them to enlarge)...

📷 01📷 02📷 03
B01.jpgB02.jpgB03.jpg
📷 04📷 05📷 06
B04.jpgB05.jpgB06.jpg
📷 07📷 08📷 09
B07.jpgB08.jpgB09.jpg
📷 10📷 11📷 12
B10.jpgB11.jpgB12.jpg

Thank you very much for your visit and appreciation!


ADDITIONAL TECHNICAL NOTE: Photographs captured with my Nikon D7000 DSLR camera in RAW format, then processed in Adobe Camera RAW for adjustments regarding light, sharpening, contrast and depth... The pictures are then exported to JPG format on which minor modifications such as straightening and adding watermarks were carried out using PhotoScape 3.6.3.


"We make photographs to understand what our lives mean to ourselves." - Ralph Hattersley.

CED_DSC1187BN-horz.jpg


Camera: Nikon D7000
Lens: Nikon AF Nikkor 50 mm f/1.8d FX


Montalbán, Carabobo, Venezuela.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency