The magic of the cloudy forests of La Palma Island (3 pics, 1 VR and 1 Video)

garafia_magica_forest_lapalma_javiersebastian_2016_2769.jpg
View in full size here

garafia_magica_forest_lapalma_javiersebastian_2016_2764.jpg
View in full size here


garafia_magica_forest_lapalma_javiersebastian_2016_2766.jpg
View in full size here

bandera_ingles.png Hi friends:

This week I would like to share with you some photos of a magical area that I rarely visit, since it is somewhat far from where I live: the cloud forests in the north of the island of La Palma.

This area of ​​the island is known for its deep ravines and lush forests of pines and Canarian laurel forest.

Due to the high altitude of the island, these forests are usually between the clouds that bring the trade winds from the north, creating some scenes as beautiful as these.

Here the humidity is very high in winter in contrast to the dry heat of summer on clear days, with the clear danger of fire that plagues the island every year and that very recently burned much of this area.

As a peculiarity of the Canary Island pine, it is that it has the ability to regenerate even if it has been almost completely burned, and inside it has a special red wood with a very sticky sap, called tea, which keeps the pine alive after the fire. After these, we can see how the needles and leaves, called needles, grow directly on the trunks, creating very particular silhouettes like hairy characters.

I hope to be able to share some examples of burnt pines being reborn soon so that you know what I'm talking about.

I hope you like the publication, to which I have added some extras such as a VR tour and a video of the area with ambient sound.

A hug!

bandera_espanol.png Hola amigos:

Esta semana me gustaría compartir con ustedes algunas fotos de una zona mágica que suelo visitar muy poco, ya que está algo lejos de donde yo vivo: los bosques nublados en el norte de la isla de La Palma.

Esta zona de la isla es conocida por sus profundos barrancos y frondosos bosques de pinos y laurisilva canaria.

Debido a la gran altitud de la isla, estos bosques suelen estar entre las nubes que traen los vientos alisios del norte, creando algunas escenas tan bellas como estas.

Aquí la humedad es muy alta en invierno en contraste con el calor seco del verano en días despejados, con el claro peligro de incendio que azota la isla cada año y que hace muy poco quemó gran parte de esta zona.

Como particularidad del pino canario, es que tiene la capacidad de regenerarse aunque haya sido quemado casí por completo, ya en su interior tiene una madera especial, roja y con una sabia muy pegagosa, llamada tea, que mantiene al pino vivo despues del incendio. Tras estos, podemos ver como a los pinos quemados y sin ramas les crecen las agujas y hojas, llamadas pinocha, directamente en los troncos, creando siluetas muy particulares como de personajes peludos.

Espero poder compartir pronto algunos ejemplos de pinos quemados renaciendo para que sepáis de lo que hablo.

Espero que le guste la publicación, a la que he añadido algunos extras como uns visita VR y un vídeo de la zona con sonido ambiental.

¡Un abrazo!


EXTRA VR

View this 3 pic in VR on @dlux.io

VR360_foggy_forest_javiersebastian.jpg


EXTRA VIDEO


You can buy my works in hi-resolution digital format on Creary.net



Copyright: Javier Sebastian, Canary Islands. All my images are original.
If you want to buy any of my visuals, please drop me a message, I'm on Discord: JavierSebastian#5816


Coinbase | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube | Invite me a Coffee | Patreon


I use this wonderful service to trading crypto coins.
I use these services to earn token while surfing the web. These are my referral links. presearch Download brave Browser, proud to support a faster and safer web
I use this service to PURCHASE and WITHDRAW to my BANK ACCOUNT. This is my referral link.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency