Trekking through Madeira - day 1 - from Porto Moniz to Ponta da Ladeira


Madeira is one ot the most beautiful places in the World - relativelly small island (part of Portugal) in the middle of Atlantic Ocean relativelly near to Canary Island). This island has not a many of incredible beaches, but has a wonerfull nature and it is paradise for hikers like me. The best choice to well-knew this island is go to relatively popular multiday trek through mountains.
I start this multiday trek in small Porto Moniz village to which i travel by bus from Funchal (capital city of Madeira). In Funchal was hot and sunnny weather, in Porto Moniz was much cooller weather and also light ocassional rain - so I do not swim in famous volcanic lagoons here, just only walked around them and take few pictures.

First part of my today hike goes up to the small centre of Porto Moniz situated not on Atlantiic Ocean coastline, but above 100 m above. After going through this village i continued to hike up on the road, but after few curves of this road leads to Santa village I continued to Pico hill (Vereda do Pico hiking trail). This hiking trail go up to Pico hill near Santa village and from them I have one really nice view to Porto Moniz and Atlantic Ocean.

After I ascent to Pico hill summit with some buildings I continued via small country roads around the nothwestern coastline of Madeira. Weather here was really windy, so I take only one pictures from this part of my today trekk.

But when I go to Ponta da Ladeira viewpoint, the wind came out. On this viewpoint with relativelly big place to stay (and sleep), the weather done more and more better and finally I have an amazing sunset above Atlantic Ocean.


#madeira #travel #photography #landscape #hiking

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency