My Nikon D5100: The Start of my Photography Journey

Hi Photography Lovers! Please give me a warm welcome to this community as I am very excited to share my photos here. So let me introduce myself, I am iTravelRox, a travel blogger, a former digital nomad, and a former wedding photographer.

Introducing to you my Nikon D5100

I got my first and only DSLR camera back in May 2013. After 3 years of working as a Virtual Assistant, I was able to save money and paid the Nikon D5100 in cash. I bought it for about PHP 25,000. At first, I wanted a Nikon D3100 for PHP 20,000 but I realized that getting a little upgrade is cool. Nikon D3100 is considered a beginner camera while D5100 is more of an intermediate camera.

nikon02.jpg

My Nikon D5100 camera on Boracay Island with a broken filter

nikon03.jpg

A camera strap and other accessories I bought in Taiwan

Where I purchased my Nikon D5100?

I bought my camera at IT Park in Lahug, Cebu. I was so happy to purchase an expensive gadget. Well, my Nikon D5100 camera is already 10 years old. I never upgraded my DSLR camera or switch to another brand. I will only buy a new one when it's damaged. My camera has been with me to different countries. It was a good investment because I was able to proceed to wedding photography which let me earn money on the side while working online. Also, having this camera was a big asset in my travels as I was able to take photos for my travel blog.

itpark01.jpg

The Walk, IT Park in Lahug, Cebu

itpark02.jpg

Inside the camera store, so many cameras you can choose from

itpark03.jpg

This is me without the makeup and I had several allergies back then...

Snapshots of IT Park in Lahug, Cebu

These are some of the photos I had where I used to work as a Data Entry Operator for a US company. What I did is to process some medical claims. Our office is located at the Skyrise 3 building.

itpark04.jpg

There are several IT companies in Cebu that's why the IT industry here is booming.

itpark05.jpg

Convergys, a call center in Cebu, I think they have a new management and changed their names now.

itpark06.jpg

You can see the Skyrise Building from The Walk.

Test Shots at Home

Upon arrival home, I decided to do some test shots. I asked my mom and sister to go to the park after dinner. We went there with a trisikad or a simple tuktuk.

hom01.jpg

The box of Nikon D5100 with 18-55 VR Kit

hom02.jpg

Simple life back then, my mother and I

hom03.jpg

My sister driving the tuktuk.

hom04.jpg

This is the city hall at night.

hom05.jpg

Using a wide aperture, the light coming in

hom06.jpg

When the aperture is not wide, small light comes in

I still have trouble learning some photographic terms. Please correct me if I made a mistake.

Test Shots with Cats

We had so many cats at home so they were a perfect subject to test my camera.

cat01.jpg

Mingming was pregnant.

cat02.jpg

Mingming used to live from our neighbor then decided to stay with us.

cat03.jpg

She loves to play with my sister.

cat04.jpg

Another stray cat who looked so grumpy.

cat05.jpg

Just Mingming with our dirty floor.

cat06.jpg

Don't bother me.

After a month, I bought a Nifty Fifty

It's an AF-S Nikkor 50 mm 1.8G lens. I bought this at Macy's Camera Shop for PHP 9,500.

nik01.jpg

nik02.jpg

Testing a Portrait Shot using the 50mm 1.8G lens

nik03.jpg

I love the bokeh effect on the background

nik04.jpg

Better photos outside of the mall with the lights from different establishments

nik05.jpg

Focusing my mom's ring

nik06.jpg

I also bought a camera case and a new card.

nik07.jpg

Mingming already gave birth and the two kittens played around with my accessories

So happy to introduce to you my camera, my kit lens and my 50mm lens. Can't you believe my camera is already a decade old? As long the camera still serves its purpose, I don't want to change yet.

Hope you will appreciate my photos in my next articles. By the way, how do you take care of your cameras?


Roxanne Tamayo - www.itravelrox.com

Welcome to iTravelRox! Roxanne Tamayo is a Cebuana who is a traveler. Now a mom of 2 kids and a wife. She is a travel blogger and a digital nomad. As a Virtual Assistant, she does a lot of things like content writing, WordPress web design, WP updates and maintenance, graphic design, and photo editing. She is into wedding photography, as well.

If you like iTravelRox's content, please don't forget to upvote and leave a comment. She will share a lot of stories about solo travels, motherhood, family travel, and working as a VA.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency