My charming microcosm

IMG_5138.jpg


In terms of photography, the first week of 2024 was very productive. The weather was mostly sunny and pleasant and I had a lot of time for daily walks on this amazing little town that life has led me. It was actually like an autumn week and I have the yellow leaves on the deciduous trees to back me up on this statement, like the pomegranate, on the picture above :)

IMG_5140.jpg

IMG_5330.jpg

IMG_5334.jpg


Sometimes a bit too windy as you can see from the waving flag but nothing too extreme that would keep me from going out. And although my farmer self is whispering in my ear that this is not normal and that we are going to pay a heavy price for this unusual good weather, I mostly ignore him and try to enjoy my day.

IMG_5340.jpg

IMG_5360.jpg

IMG_5361.jpg

IMG_5373.jpg


The festive decorations will go away very soon but the graffiti on the walls of the abandoned houses will be with us for quite some time, until the last old house gets renovated and the last neglected wall gets painted.

IMG_5374.jpg

IMG_5376.jpg

IMG_5383.jpg

IMG_5387.jpg


And while the world is more fucked up than ever, life in my charming microcosm is flowing in a peaceful and untroubled way. I find it hard to relate what I see around me with what I read in the news. Unfortunately they are both equally true.

IMG_5389.jpg



IMG_5407.jpg


Sometimes I wish I was like those two cats, totally unaware of the global paranoia and the human atrocities, preoccupied with their intimate challenges, in their own small microcosm.

But I am not.

IMG_5409.jpg

IMG_5429.jpg

IMG_5439.jpg

IMG_5442.jpg

IMG_5448.jpg

IMG_5456.jpg


This post is turning into a mixed bag. That's the right expression isn't it? A Venetian castle, an old traditional town, graffiti on the walls, mountains on the background, plants and animals, all mixed in a compilation along with my mixed thoughts in a freewrite that I have no idea if it makes any sense at all :)

IMG_5457.jpg

IMG_5460.jpg

IMG_5509.jpg

IMG_5511.jpg


I took those photographs from Monday to Friday during my walks in the town of Nafplio in Greece and I displayed them here in chronological order. If you want to see more about those walks you can take a look at my last four posts.

Happy New Year!

No worries

Not just yet

A stroll at the marina


IMG_5527.jpg

IMG_5533.jpg


The camera that I used is a Canon EOS 850D with an EF-S 18-135mm lens attached. I edited the photographs in Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Classic .

All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now