Frozen Flowers - an artwork :-)

In spring this year I saw an interesting artwork of somebody freezing a rose and I was looking amazing, so I decided to try myself freezing some flowers in the freezer and take some pictures of the results. I alread experimented with several flowers and different techniques. Freezing boiled water, and distilled water but due to the really very transparent results I stopped it and stepped back to freeze some normal water along with the flowers. Because on completely transparent Ice the flower doesn't really look frozen. One thing I still have to try is a combination of freezing the flower along with the boiled water for a completely transparent look and freezing some normal water for a more dizzy background, maybe even trying to freeze some water with gas.

I am happy to try some more different settings on this Idea in spring when different flowers start to grow again.

frozenflowers_.JPG
Frozen Flowers in a block of Ice. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D5100
Lens usedTamron 90 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/320 Seconds
Aperture usedF8
Focal Length90 mm
Time05:23 pm
ISO1000

One thing I can also try is to use different shapes for the Ice block, for this I still need to find some different templates. Maybe it could be very beautiful having different shapes of Ice maybe a bird shape and a house shape and a .... shape. I still need to think about the possibilities here. It could also be possible that the Idea with the shapes is stupid and not beautiful at all but if I don't try it I will never know it. This topic is very funny for me because it allows to experiment a lot and the results can differ so much.

frozenflowers3_.JPG
I think it looks very interesting. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D5100
Lens usedTamron 90 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/320 Seconds
Aperture usedF8
Focal Length90 mm
Time05:23 pm
ISO1000

frozenflowers2_.JPG
I am happy that I used a very colorful flower here, since it still has a very nice color through the Ice block. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D5100
Lens usedTamron 90 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/320 Seconds
Aperture usedF8
Focal Length90 mm
Time05:23 pm
ISO1000
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency