Solitary Blue-banded bees

I was quite lucky since the one who found this dying bee is actually my friend at the kitchen quite early in the morning. I am not really sure how this bee can ends up in our kitchen, and unfortunately dying.

I have found this guy out in the are flying really fast, almost impossible tioo catch up to try to get a hot shot of him. It was dying and actually died a few more minute latter when I finally have time to take my camera and take photos of this bee.

This bee is from Amegilla genus which could be really big, and unlike most of the honey bees, they are solitaire, and not working in a colony.

separator2.png

It is also called blue-banded bee, since as you can see there is a light blue color can be seen in its abdomen area. it also very hairy, with yellow color on it upper part of its body including its head.

separator2.png

separator2.png

I have never been strung by this kind of bee, but thinking of its size, I better be careful next time when I see him alive out there, because one sting can really be unpleasant.

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

Photo StyleMacro PhotographyAccesoryMeike Extention Tube
LocationBali, IndonesiaLightingExternal Flash
GearCanon EOS Kiss X8iDiffuserCekrek Diffuser


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency