Lovebug

I have heard of Lovebird before and this time I found out about Lovebug. I took photos of this little bug in the leaf of the frangipani flower that I have in my yard. Lucky he is stays still, so I could take a few photos of it. But not much since I had to go out at that time.

Lovebug or Plecia nearctica is native to Central America or in the southern part of the US, but has been around the world I think because I have seen them around my area since I was a kid.

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

Its body is mostly covered in black color, and only the thorax has a kind of orange color. Making it easy to distinguish from another bug. And the most important is the way they mate, they will stay together for several days after the mating. according to wikipedia

They will face different directions while their ends part connects each other during mating time, and will stay that way for some time.

separator2.png

separator2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency