Big Body, Little Head

Man! I don't know how long I kept the photos uploaded into the blank "compose post" page before I finally managed to put out proper content for this post. I was too distracted by my phone, and my hungry night belly to be able to compose it fast enough. haha

After a short visit to the nearest convenience store to buy bread to fill my hungry belly, here is the post for this bug which also resembles me, a big body (belly) with a little head bug. 😅😅😅😅

I was so happy that the start of the rainy season was a bit of a blessing for me because somehow there were so many bugs that came out at night or during the day including this bug Tessaratoma javanica or the Lychee Stink Bug.

separator2.png

It was nice that, during my encounter, the way I handled, it didn't produce any foul smell. As with most of the stink bug family, the foul smell they emit is a way for them to escape from predators.

separator2.png

Look at the disproportional comparison of its body and its head, it looks more like an alien. This bug should have a bigger size of head, with that kind of big body.

separator2.png

separator2.png

But anyway, it has a very nice golden color on the body, except for a little part of its thorax that has some red and white color.

separator2.png

This lychee stink bug is a pest for lychee or rambutan, some tropical fruit. They eat the flowers of those fruits, as well as the new leaves at the end of the branches. While it is so nice to see them, and be able to photograph them, it is sad also to know that they can be a nuisance for some farmers.

The good thing was that there weren't many of them to be found around the villa to cause some problems. Also, there is no lychee or rambutan plantation around, so it seems they are feeding on different diets.

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

Photo StyleMacro PhotographyAccesoryMeike Extention Tube
LocationBali, IndonesiaLightingExternal Flash
GearCanon EOS Kiss X8iDiffuserCekrek Diffuser


I am a Balinese man, a father of a toddler son, working in the hospitality industry, who has recently found a passion for macro photography. I want to share the photos that I've taken here on Hive. I appreciate any comments or feedback you leave on my posts and kindly invite you to be part of my journey in this vast Hive Ocean. Thank you very much
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency