Nature – hundreds of pink birds (12 photos)

DSC_01.JPG

When I travel I enjoy seeing wildlife that is different from what I usually have around me at my own latitudes. Therefore, when I was in Namibia a couple of years ago, I spent time in some of the national parks, such as Etosha. As I traveled down the coast, we also went to Cape Colony seal colony and the flamingos of Walvis Bay.





Walvis Bay is located just south of Swakopmund by the Atlantic Ocean. Both the city and the bay have the same name. That day we went to see the flamingos, we left Swakopmund very early and made a stop here in Walvis Bay before continuing into the desert.





Walvis Bay has a beautiful lagoon with a rich wildlife, especially birds. Hundreds of flamingos flock along the coast. They are actually good at flying and able to migrate hundreds of kilometers. I didn't see any of these in the air, they were more busy looking for algae and crustaceans.




We were told that there are at least two species to be found here. They differ when it comes to how pink or reddish they are and whether the beaks are more white than red. A walk along the waterfront, was a chilly experience in the morning fog, but amazing to look at all these flamingos! there were hundreds of them. Like a sea of pink.


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next photo shoot. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest photo shoot, check out :
MONOMAD - Two workers (2 photos)


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)

[//]:# (!pinmapple -22.956506 lat 14.506964 long Nature – hundreds of pink birds (12 photos) d3scr)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Food, Article, Poetry

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency