Well that was not the best idea



cl6h0pqn600gq0wkf21wxgvqk_drone-0106.webp
cl6h0px8a00ir15kfehqi7jlc_drone-0105.webp
cl6h0q6cg00jx1hkfhu7z1wy5_drone-0098.webp
cl6h0qg8j00iz0pkf3p4xd60d_drone-0101.webp
cl6h0qoro00hq0ikf820z7p7z_drone-0107.webp
cl6h0qwjc00gt0wkfhzml55rv_drone-0090.webp
cl6h0r3xk00ih2okf9fpzak9e_drone-0094.webp
cl6h0rblp00hl29kfgd0y5mfl_drone-0095.webp
cl6h0rins00k01hkfacdu3qgu_IMG_7254.webp
cl6h0rq0400ht0ikf95k4dv7x_IMG_7255.webp

We have some massive storms rolling in right now and I thought that it was going to be a good idea to fly my drone up and get some shots of the storms as they came in. Well, when I unpacked my drone, the battery on my controller was dead and my drone batteries were about half full, so I plugged them in for a bit trying to get enough juice to fly up real quick and get some shots.

I let everything charge for about 30 mins, which gave my controller 15% battery and one of the batteries was about 75%. I figured it would be plenty for a quick flight, so I went outside and turned everything on. I was getting some compass errors when it first turned on, and I tried to calibrate it real quick and when I was doing that, my controller starts beeping at me because it was under 20%. The errors I was getting for the compass went away before I finished its calibration, so I tried to save time by stopping the calibration.

Everything was going good when I launched up into the air. I flew around for a couple minutes getting some different shots and then I decided to bring it back and pack it up because the rain was starting up again. My daughter opened her window to her room and I told her that I was going to try and fly up to her window and to leave it open. Well, that did not go exactly to plan because when I got by the tree in our front yard, the drone shot up into the tree and seemed to commit suicide. It was chopping the shit out of the tree and then blades flew off and it did a few flips and landed camera first onto the cement.

So now my camera is busted off my drone and one set of propellers broke off. It's a good thing that this drone is pretty old and I have been wanting a reason to upgrade to one of the newer models. It is crazy how fast technology gets better with these things because about 5 years ago when I got it, the Mavic Pro 2 was one of the best on the market. Now the camera system is so outdated. I am sure that the newer models wouldnt have committed suicide into a tree either. Oh well, at least I got some cool shots of the storm before I crashed and ruined my drone. lol


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
43 Comments
Ecency